sunshine0221's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Tomatoes, and Peppers, and Herbs, Oh My!

Tomatoes, and Peppers, and Herbs, Oh My!

Last week I made my annual pilgrimage to the cool nursery that something like 60 varieties of tomatoes, not to mention the oodles of cool peppers.

I bought a reasonable amount of plants, two kinds of basil, and one perennial.

So far, within reason right?

Except they didn�t have any hot peppers or cleomes, so I had to go to the other cool nursery in Coralville. They had hot peppers, lots of them, and cleomes in two colors.

Then they had tomatillo plants at the farmer�s market. I only got one pack.

And somehow, when I got everything home, I ended up with enough peppers and tomatoes to feed a third world country.

I cleared out the mega weeds from the herb garden, which made a lot a bunch of spaces for plants, but I still had about 20 pepper plants left over after I filled it up.

So today I planted the cleomes, and snuck peppers in the empty spots in the flower beds.

I also have been mowing. Which with the size of yard is pretty much an ongoing project. And that�s with hiring someone to do the big areas. Since I killed my other mower, I�ve been using my emergency backup mower with the grass catcher.

The grass catcher would be a great idea if it weren�t for gravity. There�s a big long tube that goes UP from the mower into the grass receptacle, and the grass doesn�t so much. I imagine if I were trimming a quarter of an inch off really dry grass it would all be shibby. However, I am cutting knee length grass that doesn�t seem to ever really get dry. So it�s mow for 3 minutes, clean out the grass catcher, let the mower rest. Lather, rinse, repeat.

After about an hour of this, I decided to try removing the grass catcher tube. This caused high velocity foliage to shoot at my face. I kept mowing like this for quite a while as, even though I was starting to get grass embedded in places you don�t want to grass embedded, it was easier than the mow, take grass catcher apart, rest mower scenario. I also, as Tahmi pointed out, acquired hobbit feet during this process.

So just one more pack of jalapenos and a few herbs to plant.

And then it�ll be time to mow again.

4:11 p.m. - May 18, 2003

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

porktornado
trancejen
twobaddogs
marn
hissandtell
idiot-milk
poolagirl
ann-frank
dangerspouse
purplecigar
lobsterchick
bluemeany
twelvebeer
juddhole
rickscafe
smartypants
crazy4muffin
bigpimpinmba
hooterville
mousemilk
essaywriter
hydrogeek
hollyfae
biodtl
pinkrevolver
catspajamas
reynedecoupe
yeahimadork
hairburner
haloaskew
toastcrumbs
geeked-out
gripewater
tattoobelly
dinahsoar
gumphood
nicim
batten
acaldwell
bonkrood
wickedcrazy
janetplnetoc
porchlife
not-a-finger
scotvalkyrie
danglemyfeet
reader1209
acecoolg
cunhell
katiedoyle