sunshine0221's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Mousepants!

Mousepants!

You know how when you do laundry, and leave you something in your pockets, like a piece of paper or something, and then it's left at the bottom of the washer when you're done? That happened to me this morning. I put my clothes in the dryer, and there was a wad of something - looked like paper towels left in the washer.

I picked it up and put it in the sink with the dryer lint for future disposal. I was getting ready to go pick up a friend at the airport, but started to get a funny feeling about the wad of paper towels. I went back and looked at it - and it was a soggy dead mouse. That I had touched.

Now, me and dead rodents do not get along so well. Millie is quite the hunter, and when it is warm, I leave a window open so the felines can get in and out by themselves. This is very handy - except that Millie is a hunter. And likes to bring his "toys" in to show me. There was a lot of screaming while disposing of rodents and birds going on in my house last summer. The only way I can get up the courage to actually pick up one of Millie's "gifts" is to imagine the alternative - stepping over it until eternity.

So the mouse thingie, in addition to being unbelievably gross, stirred up Millie-induced post-traumatic stress.

I tried to deal with the horrifying fact that I had touched a mouse while on my way to the airport. And then I realized that the pants I was wearing - were from the mouseload of laundry. I was wearing mouse cootie pants. By then I had passed trauma, and had moved on to denial that I had touched a dead mouse, plus didn't have time to autoclave my pants and purchase new ones somewhere.

I am sure there is a moral here somewhere, but right now I am too grossed out to even begin to think of one.

4:20 p.m. - December 03, 2006

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

porktornado
trancejen
twobaddogs
marn
hissandtell
idiot-milk
poolagirl
ann-frank
dangerspouse
purplecigar
lobsterchick
bluemeany
twelvebeer
juddhole
rickscafe
smartypants
crazy4muffin
bigpimpinmba
hooterville
mousemilk
essaywriter
hydrogeek
hollyfae
biodtl
pinkrevolver
catspajamas
reynedecoupe
yeahimadork
hairburner
haloaskew
toastcrumbs
geeked-out
gripewater
tattoobelly
dinahsoar
gumphood
nicim
batten
acaldwell
bonkrood
wickedcrazy
janetplnetoc
porchlife
not-a-finger
scotvalkyrie
danglemyfeet
reader1209
acecoolg
cunhell
katiedoyle