sunshine0221's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

The British Olympics

The British Olympics

Once again I find myself in the position of apologizing for the desert which the updating of my blog has become.

But I have a good excuse. I have a bunch of good excuses actually.

Excuse # 1:

Really tired.

Last week I had to complete Korean trade documentation on a pretty damn tight deadline. It was a huge project, and I ended up staying up really late for most of a week to get it all done. I used to be able handle sleep deprivation just fine, but no more apparently. I get moody, and crabby, and now feel quite hostile towards Korea.

Excuse # 2:

Almost got company evicted from its facility.

In addition to preparing Korean trade documents, interfacing with our landlord regarding building repairs is also one of my responsibilities. This would be no biggie, except THE LANDLORD NEVER FIXES ANYTHING. Two weeks ago our work sink broke, and he had promised every day that he would fix it, but had not actually gotten around to it. So, when he called me to inquire about the rent, I thought it was a brilliant idea when I told him that I would be happy to get him a rent check as soon as our sink was fixed.

Except, I apparently hit a nerve, and he started yelling that he would not be blackmailed, and I was a (insert euphemism for not nice person), and that he was going to evict us, and then he hung up on me.

I was semi-amused by his overreaction, but then started to worry that he would actually evict us, and envisioned my performance appraisal where I would be trying to explain and/or justify making the company homeless.

Thankfully, so far we have not been evicted. And our sink actually got fixed today.

Excuse # 3

Too busy giggling.

One of the side effects of me being tired, or stressed, is that I get uncontrollable giggles. Often at inappropriate times, such as business meetings, or when making presentations in front of a room full of people.

A very good friend understood that I was not having the greatest week, and called me all the way from England to cheer me up. We were having a lovely chat, and the subject of oxymorons came up. And he mentioned the British Olympics. And for some reason it was the funniest thing I have ever heard. While I am sure that the British have some fine Olympic teams, and I hear they are expected to kick ass in curling in 2012, I could not stop laughing. I laughed for ten minutes solid, while he kindly waited for me to regain my senses. And somehow between the phone call, and the laughing, and despite the fact that he did not think my horse joke was the least bit funny, I really felt better by the time we hung up.

Excuse # 4

Was learning Trademark Law

And in case you think that sounds boring - it is not just boring, it is also technical, and the trademark website was seemingly designed by mentally-challenged orangatans and is nearly impossible to navigate. Thanks to some excellent advice from a real live trademark attorney, I was able to get us a 6 month extension and three of four objections dropped. And you are bored reading this aren't you? You can imagine how I felt spending weeks on this stuff.

Excuse # 5

Almost famous

I made the front page of the local paper. Yes there is war in the Middle East, and people are starving in third-world countries - but apparently I am front page news. There are some funny things here - the people in the picture? Are salespeople and have nothing to do with making product, but they sure do look official don't they? Also, when the reporter came to interview me, I was in the middle of filing an online response to a trademark office action, and kept getting interrupted and losing what I had completed. So when the reporter showed up I was distracted and really not paying attention to what I was saying, but fortunately did not say anything horribly inaccurate or embarassing.





Excuse # 6

Busy arguing with Vet's wife re: Millie's possession of testicles

So I finally brought Millie into the vet for his "operation". The following is conversation I had with vet's wife:

Vet's Wife: So this is the kitty, he's a little boy right?
Self: Sure is.
Vet's Wife: What is his name?
Self: Millie.
Vet's Wife: Millie?????!!!
Self: Well, I thought he was a girl when I named him, and it just kind of stuck.
Vet's Wife: (Looking at Millie in carrier) Are you sure he is a boy?
Self: Well he has TESTICLES!
Vet's Wife: Well, but he looks like he is three colors which means he is a girl.
Self: But he has TESTICLES. Want to see?
Vet's Wife: No, that's okay, we'll just remove whatever needs to be removed.
[Note: Millie is indeed a boy, and is actually only two colors, and has already forgiven me for having his TESTICLES cut off]

10:35 p.m. - August 31, 2006

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

porktornado
trancejen
twobaddogs
marn
hissandtell
idiot-milk
poolagirl
ann-frank
dangerspouse
purplecigar
lobsterchick
bluemeany
twelvebeer
juddhole
rickscafe
smartypants
crazy4muffin
bigpimpinmba
hooterville
mousemilk
essaywriter
hydrogeek
hollyfae
biodtl
pinkrevolver
catspajamas
reynedecoupe
yeahimadork
hairburner
haloaskew
toastcrumbs
geeked-out
gripewater
tattoobelly
dinahsoar
gumphood
nicim
batten
acaldwell
bonkrood
wickedcrazy
janetplnetoc
porchlife
not-a-finger
scotvalkyrie
danglemyfeet
reader1209
acecoolg
cunhell
katiedoyle