sunshine0221's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Bad TV - the Gift That Keeps On Giving

Bad TV - the Gift that Keeps on Giving


Because I am a kind, open-minded person, I love my friend Kelly, despite the fact that she does not watch TV.

I do not discriminate against or mock the TV-challenged - well hardly ever.

But I do think it is my duty as a friend to up her TVQ. Last year I started a new annual tradition of making Kelly a tape of a selection of TV shows.

The Christmas 2003 mix included The Surreal Life with Tammy Faye (who I was surprised to discover I like) and Ron Jeremy, a few episodes of Most Extreme Elimination Challenge - because who can resist the hilarity of people maiming themselves for our entertainment, a Brini Maxwell episode or two (it took me almost all the way through a show to figure out that she's a man, baby), and the premiere episode of The Apprentice. I threw in a few cooking shows, and I know there was more, but they must have been traumatically bad and I have blocked them out.

This year, I am outdoing myself.

First up, the Semi-Homemade Cooking with Sandra Lee holiday episode from last year.

With the blue marshmallow-filled Hanukkah cake complete with 8-sided star (the rogue marshmallow that she has to keep stuffing down has become a legend) - and the pinnacle of cooking horror - the Kwanzaa Cake. I'm not sure what that angel food cake ever did to Sandra, but she got it back good by pouring canned apple filling down the middle, covering it with canned chocolate frosting, stabbing huge green, red, and black candles in it, and finally the horrific piece de resistance - adding piles o' corn nuts. I don't gross out easily, and heaven knows I like my desserts, but I don't think I could gag this one down.

Then of course, we have Dog the Bounty Hunter. I actually like this show, and the fashions and hairdos alone will have Kelly's head spinning.

I�ll also throw in a few good cooking shows to cancel out Sandra Lee, and a reality show or two, including Project Runway, which is a really cool show.

And feel free to steal my idea for any of your TV handicapped friends.

12:28 a.m. - December 12, 2004

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

porktornado
trancejen
twobaddogs
marn
hissandtell
idiot-milk
poolagirl
ann-frank
dangerspouse
purplecigar
lobsterchick
bluemeany
twelvebeer
juddhole
rickscafe
smartypants
crazy4muffin
bigpimpinmba
hooterville
mousemilk
essaywriter
hydrogeek
hollyfae
biodtl
pinkrevolver
catspajamas
reynedecoupe
yeahimadork
hairburner
haloaskew
toastcrumbs
geeked-out
gripewater
tattoobelly
dinahsoar
gumphood
nicim
batten
acaldwell
bonkrood
wickedcrazy
janetplnetoc
porchlife
not-a-finger
scotvalkyrie
danglemyfeet
reader1209
acecoolg
cunhell
katiedoyle