sunshine0221's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Music!

The Music Meme

This was passed on to me by the very talented and extraordinary Muffin


Part the First: Ten Random Songs

Instructions: Put your MP3 player on "shuffle" and list the first ten songs that play, no matter how embarrassing.


I do not own a MP3 player. I also just got a DVD player, and do not own a microwave. Amish party of one! But I do have a very cool TiVo (185 hours babay!) which helps compensate for my unhip lack of a pink iPod.

So what you are going to get is the next ten songs that randonly play on Windows Media Player on my old-as-dirt 400 megahertz Aptiva:

1. OutKast - Roses. I just like this song. It has a beat and you can dance to it. Plus it contains a valuable lesson which it never hurts to be reminded of. And I don't know how to say that without a dangling participle at the end.

2. Beth Hart - L.A. Song. Sad and pretty. Music to be melancholy to. Music to contemplate eternal single-hood to. Music to make you realize that you can't blame a place for your unhappiness - you gotta deal with it, or it will follow you around like a love-starved puppy until you take him inside, and feed him, and then you will keep him, and get more puppies and maybe a kitten or two ... now where was I?

3. Ashlee Simpson- Pieces of Me Okay, I know girlfriend can't sing, but the song is catchy. And I have to confess right now that I am cheating and skipping some songs. And not because they are too shameful to admit to - because - hey - I am admitting to Ashley Simpson, I just didn't have anything interesting to say about them.

4. Jeff Buckley - Hallelujah Another sad but beautiful song. Hopefully the next one will be snappier. Y'all are going to think I am seriously depressed or something. Heard the song on the season finale of The OC last season, and immediately downloaded it.

5. ?? - Kung Fu Fighting. Hey I don't embarass easily do I? I like this song. And yeah, don't know the artist. I am going to have to complain to the site I downloaded it for free from, and.... well... never mind.

6. Michelle Branch - Goodbye to You (acoustic). Heard this song for the first time in the fabulous Buffy episode Tabula Rasa where Buffy and Spike snog. I want a kiss like that. Vampire Schmampire - who cares if he can kiss like Spike.

7. Going Through the Motions from the Once More With Feeling Buffy episode. I feel like this a lot, and I'm not even a slayer or anything. Hey two Buffy songs in a row! Serendipity!

8. Michael Jackson - Thriller. I know, I know. But the song would make a deaf 90 year old get up and dance. I am dancing in my chair as I type this.

9. Tim McGraw - Live Like You Were Dying . Words to live by. I don't think we can be reminded too much to treat every moment as if it's important, and live your dreams, and don't put things off, and tell the people you love that you love them, and go skydiving!

10. John Mayer - Daughters. This one makes me sad, and I feel like it was written for me.

Part the Second: Question and Answer Section.

What is the total amount of music files on your computer?

I have around 200 songs. I tend to play them until I'm sick of them, then delete them, and then download more.

The last CD you bought is:

I totally cannot remember. It has been a looong time since I purchased a CD. Plus downloading is the new black, right?.

What is the song you last listened to before beginning this meme?

Extraordinary by Liz Phair

Write down five songs you often listen to or that mean a lot to you.


I can really only think of two:


As I mentioned earlier, John Mayer's Daughters. I am not about the blaming the past for my present, or deliberately holding on to old wounds, but I suspect that if I had had some positivity in the father arena, I would be a different person.

And also mentioned earlier, Liz Phair's Extraordinary. Because really, I don't think most people are as down with their extraordinariness as they should be. I know I'm not. When I sing this in the car, it dramatically increases my extraordinaritude.


Name three artists/bands you adore

I'm more a song, rather than a band or artist person. I mean, how could you even ask that question, and try to tie me down like that? I'm a rebel, and don't you forget it!

Pass this stick to three persons and explain why:


I'm going to leave this open. Most of the cool kids have already done it, and if you haven't - here's the baton.

10:20 p.m. - February 03, 2005

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

porktornado
trancejen
twobaddogs
marn
hissandtell
idiot-milk
poolagirl
ann-frank
dangerspouse
purplecigar
lobsterchick
bluemeany
twelvebeer
juddhole
rickscafe
smartypants
crazy4muffin
bigpimpinmba
hooterville
mousemilk
essaywriter
hydrogeek
hollyfae
biodtl
pinkrevolver
catspajamas
reynedecoupe
yeahimadork
hairburner
haloaskew
toastcrumbs
geeked-out
gripewater
tattoobelly
dinahsoar
gumphood
nicim
batten
acaldwell
bonkrood
wickedcrazy
janetplnetoc
porchlife
not-a-finger
scotvalkyrie
danglemyfeet
reader1209
acecoolg
cunhell
katiedoyle