sunshine0221's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

It's a Mad, Mad House

It's A Mad, Mad House

I was looking at my list of TiVo Season Passes and noticed that I am quite the Reality Show afficionado.

I mean, I have my standards, but just barely.

I didn't watch the Who Wants To Marry a Midget one, or Paradise Island, either of the Average Joes, or The Bachelor 1, 2, or 3.

I do watch Mad, Mad House. It's a more interesting premise than most. There are five hosts (the Alts) who are a Voodoo Priestess, a Naturist, a Witch, A Modern Primitive, and a Vampire. Who live in a house with ten 'normal' people. The Alts vote off one person every week, and it's based on personal growth and openness to new ideas, or lack of.

It's an interesting show, and although I will not be running out and embracing any of these alternative lifestyles, I can appreciate where all but one are coming from.

Avocado the Naturist is cool. I could have lunch with him and enjoy myself. He eats healthy and likes getting naked, and seems like a very balanced person.

Art the Modern Primitive is also cool. He is extremely tattooed and pierced, and seems like a good guy.

Ta Shia the Voodoo Priestess, and Fiona the Witch are interesting people, and I'm down with whole woman-power thing.

And then there's Don the Vampire. I just can't take him seriously. It's not a religion, or an ancient tradition. He lives his based on fictional Ann Rice characters. He sleeps all day in a coffin, wears vampire-eye contacts, is very pale and has pointy teeth. He drinks blood of course, and if they ever start giving out awards for over-the-top pretentiousness, he will so win it. Also his name is Don. Hee. He went to all the trouble with the eyes and teeth and he couldn't change his name to something more vampiric?

And also, anyone who has watched even one episode of Buffy would know that a real vampire wouldn't get caught dead sleeping in a coffin.

In summary, when you are out shopping for alternative lifestyles, don't pick a fictional, pretentious one.

10:57 p.m. - April 12, 2004

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

porktornado
trancejen
twobaddogs
marn
hissandtell
idiot-milk
poolagirl
ann-frank
dangerspouse
purplecigar
lobsterchick
bluemeany
twelvebeer
juddhole
rickscafe
smartypants
crazy4muffin
bigpimpinmba
hooterville
mousemilk
essaywriter
hydrogeek
hollyfae
biodtl
pinkrevolver
catspajamas
reynedecoupe
yeahimadork
hairburner
haloaskew
toastcrumbs
geeked-out
gripewater
tattoobelly
dinahsoar
gumphood
nicim
batten
acaldwell
bonkrood
wickedcrazy
janetplnetoc
porchlife
not-a-finger
scotvalkyrie
danglemyfeet
reader1209
acecoolg
cunhell
katiedoyle