sunshine0221's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Guilty Pleasures

Guilty Pleasures

I have been extemely unwritey lately. I realized I�d better whip out an entry before February slips by, and I become an official online journal slacker.

I call this type of entry a cheater entry. You know, the ones that pretty much write themselves, once you think of a topic.

Here are some of my guilty pleasures, not necessarily in order of importance:

TV. I know, I know, it steals your time, and rots your brain. But I have to tell you, it also makes me laugh and cry, entertains me, and yes, also inspires me. I just watched last week's episode of Angel, and I'm proud of Cordelia for almost sacrificing herself to save the world. I admire the whole gang for working so hard to come up with a way to kill the Big Bad, and double guilty pleasure - Angelus is damn sexy. There's just something about an evil, soul-less bad boy that makes my heart beat faster.

And even guiltier pleasure � Reality TV. I�m not ashamed to admit I love Survivor, that Joe Millionaire is irresistibly, hilariously evil, and what could be trashier, and more fun than The Surreal Life?

Coffee. Again, I know it's not supposed to be good for you, there are healthy 'alternatives', and like I need caffeine to make my insomnia worse? Even though I haven't been drinking coffee lately, I still crave the taste, the rush, and the pleasure of drinking it.

The best coffee I have ever had was a Cafe Borgia. It's a mocha with orange syrup, and it is incredibly good. The last one I had was tragically sacrificed to the parking lot gods at the Coralville Mall when I gracefully tripped over a previously invisible parking bump, and sent my treasured Cafe Borgia flying almost twenty feet, while simultaneously making my knee really ouchy. Coffee, how I miss you.

Trashy Books My mom was an English teacher. She was all about the classics until I corrupted her with trashy books. Janet Evanovich's Stephanie Plum novels are book crack. You'll be twitching and selling your body to get money for her next book. Don't say I didn't warn you.

I always carry a book in my purse, and I'm usually reading two or three at a time. I am currently reading Making Minty Malone, which I recommend.

The Internet I don't know what I did before the internet. I have vague memories of going to the library to get information, but that just seems primitive and weird now. I shop on the internet, get recipes, find addresses and phone numbers, I post on messages boards, and read wonderful online journals. I get email updates from my uncle on how my dad is doing. Two old friends from Jr. High school contacted me when they found me on Classmates.com. I get jewelry ideas, always have someone to play Hearts (badly) with, and look up the alarming side effects of medication when it gets prescribed. I found the poem that made me cry when my dogs died, have met some wonderful people, pay my bills online and what would I do without my best friend Paypal?

Cats Okay, I admit it. I am becoming a cat person. (I still of course love dogs so I guess I'm bi) After many years of confirmed dog personhood, I have discovered the wonderfulness that is cats. Everything I own is now a cat toy. Including toilet paper, jewelry - in process or completed, beads of course, beanie babies, pens, boxes and bags, and zippers. In addition we have a microchip squeaky mouse, a laser pointer, two cardboard scratchy things, and bags of organic catnip. Spikey welcomes me whenever I come home, and Buffy climbs the screen until I let her in. I blew a cuteness fuse last night when I found Buffy and Spike on top of the radiator giving each other baths.

Other miscellaneous guilty pleasures include shopping, Bedazzling, massages, and sushi.

And stay tuned, I feel another entry coming on.

9:50 p.m. - February 12, 2003

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

porktornado
trancejen
twobaddogs
marn
hissandtell
idiot-milk
poolagirl
ann-frank
dangerspouse
purplecigar
lobsterchick
bluemeany
twelvebeer
juddhole
rickscafe
smartypants
crazy4muffin
bigpimpinmba
hooterville
mousemilk
essaywriter
hydrogeek
hollyfae
biodtl
pinkrevolver
catspajamas
reynedecoupe
yeahimadork
hairburner
haloaskew
toastcrumbs
geeked-out
gripewater
tattoobelly
dinahsoar
gumphood
nicim
batten
acaldwell
bonkrood
wickedcrazy
janetplnetoc
porchlife
not-a-finger
scotvalkyrie
danglemyfeet
reader1209
acecoolg
cunhell
katiedoyle