sunshine0221's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

O is for Oops

I know it has been FOREVER since I posted an entry. I will try to overcompensate for the rest of the month. Also, stay tuned for a new spring-like design coming soon.



O is for Ooops

I am taking a web design class. It meets Tuesday and Thursday nights. Today is Tuesday, and I missed the class.

The class is being held at our local teen center, and is being offered at no charge. If I were paying for the class, I could fairly easily blow it off. Like I did pretty much my whole sophomore year of college. Anyway the nicest guy is teaching the class. For free. And I blew it off. So I do feel bad.

Now comes the decision � do I make up a far-fetched but plausible-in-an-alternate-reality excuse involving aliens and anal probes, or do I tell the truth? Which is that I didn�t sleep well last night, and it took me until oh, around 5:30 p.m. before I could muster up the huge amounts of energy needed to errrrr� shower and get dressed? And that I didn�t even remember the class until 6:00 p.m. while I was on my way to HyVee to get bittersweet chocolate to make Nigella brownies?

I think I�ll fess up, tell the truth, offer to do punitive homework to make up for it, and show up early for the next class. Yeah, that�s the ticket.

A in for Animals

Someone posted on a message board that they don�t get the animal thing. What�s the big deal about pets?

I feel lucky that I know what the big deal is. Animals are little furry packages of unconditional love. They are there for you. No matter how many stupid things you do, your coming home is the highlight of their day. Heck, coming back in after taking out the trash is a momentous event.

I have to admit, that until I got some, I didn�t get the cat thing.

First there was Buffy, who was so good to Sun when he was old, and then Spike, who I swear is a dog in a catsuit. He didn�t get the memo that cats are supposed to be cool and independent. He snuggles, and plays, and wants to sit on me at all times.

I remember when Sunshine died, there was a guy I worked with who said, �What�s the big deal? It was just a dog.� I felt sorry for him. I feel sorry for anyone who doesn�t know what it is to have a fur or feather person to enrich their life.

Yes, they do wake me up in the middle of the night when they whack each trying to win the spot on my bed near my feet. Yes, Spike can eat two bites of chicken liver and hoark up a whole chicken. Yes, Buffy climbs my bedroom screen and yowls at 3:00 am when she wants to be let in.

Would I trade them for hoark-free peace and quiet? No way.

9:36 p.m. - March 20, 2003

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

porktornado
trancejen
twobaddogs
marn
hissandtell
idiot-milk
poolagirl
ann-frank
dangerspouse
purplecigar
lobsterchick
bluemeany
twelvebeer
juddhole
rickscafe
smartypants
crazy4muffin
bigpimpinmba
hooterville
mousemilk
essaywriter
hydrogeek
hollyfae
biodtl
pinkrevolver
catspajamas
reynedecoupe
yeahimadork
hairburner
haloaskew
toastcrumbs
geeked-out
gripewater
tattoobelly
dinahsoar
gumphood
nicim
batten
acaldwell
bonkrood
wickedcrazy
janetplnetoc
porchlife
not-a-finger
scotvalkyrie
danglemyfeet
reader1209
acecoolg
cunhell
katiedoyle