sunshine0221's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

One Good Day

One Good Day

There are good and bad things about having people you know read your journal. I love sharing what's going on in my life with the people I care about. I also sometimes hold back more than I would if my journal were completely anonymous. I have been not talking about something big in my life, and this entry will change that.

I am going bankrupt. It's hard for me to even type the words. After three years of stuggling, and juggling, and the last straw being the layoff from my job, I made the long overdue decision to do the B word. It was a hard decision to make, and a huge relief after I made it.

At the risk of sounding like an ad for a bankruptcy attorney, it's a clean start.

And if I ever get into this position again, please shoot me.

One would think that the day one goes up to Des Moines to meet with the bankruptcy judge would be all shades of crappy, but it wasn't. Stay with me here, all of the unrelated threads do tie together by the end.

First of all, Tahmi offered to drive me, and having a friend there, and going to lunch at the art gallery, and going to the half price book store makes a big honking difference. Plus with Tahmi driving, it cuts like an hour off the travel time.

We get to the Courthouse - go through the id check and metal detector station and head on upstairs to the Bankruptcy Room. It was actually an interesting process to watch. They pile you into one big courtroom, and the judge calls people up one by one and asks them the same six questions. Questions like, "Have you declared all your assets?", and "Have you sold any assets to family members in the past year?"

The judge is interviewing a guy, and gets to the have you sold assets questions. The guy says that he sold his boat to his mom.

Judge: How much did you sell it to her for?

Going Bankrupt Dude: $5,000

Judge: How much did you pay for it?

Going Bankrupt Dude: $2,500

Judge: You're a bad son.

Bankruptcy humor. Hee.

I get my turn, manage to successfully stifle the nervous giggles that I usually get during times of stress, and whew it's over.

***

I have been lusting after a Tivo ever since I saw Tahmi's. It is hands down the coolest electronic device I have ever seen. You can pause live TV! Record up to 36 hours! Easily find and watch the shows you recorded! Set up season passes so you can, for example, have your Tivo automatically find and record all the first run episodes of Alias. Despite my intense desire for one of these babies, they cost money, and yes I would LOVE to have one, and despite the extreme stress and limitations of recording with a VCR, Tivos are luxuries that one who is going bankrupt should live without for now.

Which doesn't stop me from whining about how I can only record the channel I'm watching, and that I haven't seen last season's finale of Alias yet because it is somewhere on one of ten tapes and how the heck will I ever find it

***

My sister and I have not seen each other for ages. We weren't raised together, and she lives 2,000 miles away. The good thing about all the stuff going on with my dad is that it has gotten us back in touch with each other. Sarah called a few days ago, and said she was thinking of going on a cruise, and wouldn't it be cool if I went, and we could spend time together, get to know each other again, plus a cruise!

I haven't ever cruised, and I never would have thought of it. And back to the money thing again. There was no way I was going to not go, but yikes would I have to become a crack ho to pay for it?

***

Tahmi and I ran our errands and headed back towards home. Tahmi hasn't been feeling well, so I attributed the fact that she wanted to pick up her husband Jason before dropping me off at home when she had to go past my house to get to hers, to lack of clarity brought on by delirium induced by a possible high fever.

We picked up Jason, and drove to my house, and everyone followed me in. We walked into the living room, and I really was so overwhelmed I can't even remember the sequence of events, but sitting happily under my cable box was a beautiful, wonderful, I'd marry it if I could - TIVO!!!!!!

It was a surprise present from Tahmi and Jason. As wonderful as it is to have a Tivo, it is a zillion times more wonderful to have friends who even think of doing something like this, let alone do it.

And then I got an email that night from Sarah that she got our dad to pay for our cruises.

The day that I expected to be awful and stressful turned out to be full of wonderful friends, surprises and miracles. Go figure.

10:01 a.m. - September 18, 2002

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

porktornado
trancejen
twobaddogs
marn
hissandtell
idiot-milk
poolagirl
ann-frank
dangerspouse
purplecigar
lobsterchick
bluemeany
twelvebeer
juddhole
rickscafe
smartypants
crazy4muffin
bigpimpinmba
hooterville
mousemilk
essaywriter
hydrogeek
hollyfae
biodtl
pinkrevolver
catspajamas
reynedecoupe
yeahimadork
hairburner
haloaskew
toastcrumbs
geeked-out
gripewater
tattoobelly
dinahsoar
gumphood
nicim
batten
acaldwell
bonkrood
wickedcrazy
janetplnetoc
porchlife
not-a-finger
scotvalkyrie
danglemyfeet
reader1209
acecoolg
cunhell
katiedoyle