sunshine0221's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

The Spawn of Satan Strikes Back, and also Easter Bread

The Spawn of Satan Strikes Back, and also Easter Bread

I have been shutting the cats out of my bedroom, at the request of my feet, which did not appreciate being attacked every time they moved. Also at the request of the rest of me, that kinda needs to get sleep. I have those louvred type shutter doors on my bedroom,and they open in. Teeny has figured out how to open them by throwing himself against them, so I have to kind of wedge them closed, and then put a box in front of the door.

This would work fine, IF I WERE DEAF. Teeny yowls. He sticks his feet under the door and noisily relocates things from inside my bedroom to outside my bedroom. He bangs on the door, and yowls some more. This morning, SUNDAY MORNING, at 7 freaking am, after half an hour or so of the usual yowling and bumping, I heard a loud noise, kind of like a lamp being knocked over, and then some loud crinkling, like I hear when a feline gets their paws on a bag of cat treats. And I worried what had been knocked over, and what was possibly being eaten, and I couldn't get back to sleep.

Upon entering the kitchen I discovered a gallon glass jar had been removed from the cupboard, and also a bag of extra-wide egg noodles. Apparently Teeny was trying to make himself a snack. And also maybe some sun tea.


Today after doing some work for my nice client who doesn't pay me, I stopped at Hy Vee to pick up some food supplies. For the past week, right up front by the entrance, there have been two horrifying displays. The first one is cart full o' Easter Rolls,and the second one a stand-up tray of Easter Bread. Let me apologize up front if anyone's religious beliefs include garishly-colored breadstuffs, but these things are alarming. I have been dying to buy some and post pictures, because unless I have missed a major national holiday trend, I think they may be an Iowa thing. Up until today I was able to resist, because it's not like I would actually eat the horror-bread or rolls, and I hate to waste two bucks and a gallon of perfectly good food coloring.

Anyway, I blame my sleep deprivation. I bought Easter Bread today. The rolls were the same idea, but only one color per roll. I carefully selected the most impressive loaf, and here it is for your viewing pleasure.


Yum!




Happy Easter!

8:45 p.m. - March 27, 2005

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

porktornado
trancejen
twobaddogs
marn
hissandtell
idiot-milk
poolagirl
ann-frank
dangerspouse
purplecigar
lobsterchick
bluemeany
twelvebeer
juddhole
rickscafe
smartypants
crazy4muffin
bigpimpinmba
hooterville
mousemilk
essaywriter
hydrogeek
hollyfae
biodtl
pinkrevolver
catspajamas
reynedecoupe
yeahimadork
hairburner
haloaskew
toastcrumbs
geeked-out
gripewater
tattoobelly
dinahsoar
gumphood
nicim
batten
acaldwell
bonkrood
wickedcrazy
janetplnetoc
porchlife
not-a-finger
scotvalkyrie
danglemyfeet
reader1209
acecoolg
cunhell
katiedoyle