sunshine0221's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Cool Jeans

Cool Jeans

I had to go to Wal Mart yesterday to pick up some supplies for the Holiday Fair I'm going to be selling jewelry at this weekend.

I purposefully went to the sections of the store that contained the needed items. Card stock? Check. Receipt books? Check. Little plastic baggies? Check.

Then trouble struck. Had to pass through the clothes section to get to the crafts section to look for watercolors. Thought I was safe until I spied the hip hugging, bell bottomed, embroidered-with-a-few-tasteful-rhinestones jeans. I mean, we're talking cool jeans. For under 20 bucks.

I looked at the jeans longingly as my inner practical voice said that I did not need them. Then inspiration struck. I could get them a size too small, which would transform them from cool jeans into A Reason To Lose Weight. Dual purpose jeans, inspirational jeans, jeans that will magically make me skinny. How could I resist that?

I bought them. They're sitting on the rocking chair near my desk where I can see them and dream of the day when I can actually wear them.

&&&&&&&&&&&&&&

You know how when you're bored time moves reaaallly slowly? Today I was at a Holiday Arts and Crafty Fair. The plan was that Tahmi and I would share a booth, and that the worst case scenario would be that we didn't sell anything, but we'd have a good time anyway.

That was not the worst case scenario, no sirree. The worst case was Jason, Tahmi's husband getting food poisoning (I also officially apologize for asking Tahmi if she had been cooking again), and Tahmi staying home to take care of him.

The first hour of the show was 400 million hours long. I stood there watching the amazing absence of customers. I was so bored, I read the sayings on religious pillows that the lady in the next booth was selling. She had it good - she could leave her booth for hours at a time, betting correctly that no one wants to earn an express ticket to hell by stealing religious pillows. I mean, if I'm going to hell, I want it to be for something big, like a couple of the deadly sins. No way I'd risk eternal damnation for a Jesus pillow.

The afternoon was better. I sold a pair of the surprised cat-head earrings, and made some wire crochet jewelry. Plus I'm zonked because Ms. I-Can't -Possibly-Plan-Ahead-and-Actually-Have-Jewelry-Ready-To-Sell-Even-Though-I've-Known-About-This-Show-For-Two-Months was up reaaallly late making earrings.

And I have to go back tomorrow. I hope Tahmi's there. I hope we sell some jewelry. And I really hope we don't get so bored that we start stealing religious pillows.

8:08 p.m. - December 07, 2002

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

porktornado
trancejen
twobaddogs
marn
hissandtell
idiot-milk
poolagirl
ann-frank
dangerspouse
purplecigar
lobsterchick
bluemeany
twelvebeer
juddhole
rickscafe
smartypants
crazy4muffin
bigpimpinmba
hooterville
mousemilk
essaywriter
hydrogeek
hollyfae
biodtl
pinkrevolver
catspajamas
reynedecoupe
yeahimadork
hairburner
haloaskew
toastcrumbs
geeked-out
gripewater
tattoobelly
dinahsoar
gumphood
nicim
batten
acaldwell
bonkrood
wickedcrazy
janetplnetoc
porchlife
not-a-finger
scotvalkyrie
danglemyfeet
reader1209
acecoolg
cunhell
katiedoyle