sunshine0221's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Convict Calling

Convict Calling

On Tuesday, when I got home from work, as usual I checked my answering machine messages. What was not usual was the following message:

Female Recording Voice: "This is a collect call from MumbleMumble State Prison, from..."

Male Voice: "It's me, pick up!!"

Female Recording Voice: "If you wish to accept the call, Press 1. If you would not like to accept the call, Press 2. If you would prefer to not receive calls from MumbleMumble State Prison, Press 9."

Now first of all, what the hell??? I know I have made some bad relationship choices in the past, but have so far managed to avoid dating men who are incarcerated. Did I accidentally place a personal ad in the "Looking For Some Hot Convict Loving" personals? Do men in prison make random collect calls, hoping that they will accidentally reach one of those women who fall in love and marry guys with life sentences?

And the sad thing here? I think I may know who the call was from.

I have a second job doing bookkeeping for a gentleman who owns a guest house here in town. Most of the people there rent rooms long term, and just about every single one of them is a character. There is "OCD Man", who calls me with long rambling detailed messages about when and how things should be done. There is "Gossip Woman" who knows every embarassing detail in her co-residents lives, and is very happy to share them. A few of the guys must be nocturnal, because I have never seen them. And then there is "Sweet But Really Crazy Dude".

Now SBRC Dude has some problems. He has been in and out of jail a lot. He is not particularly emotionally stable. And I have gotten some very strange calls from him. The most recent call was about how I needed to help him get his organ donor status removed from his drivers license, because ever since he became a donor, his life has been awful, and he is sure that is why.

The reason that I suspect the prison call may have been from him, is that he recently violated his parole by leaving the state and going to Nebraska. Now me personally, if I were going to risk going back to the big house due to illegally leaving the state? I would go somewhere way cooler than Nebraska.

And then my next question is, if the call was indeed from SBRC Dude, what did he want? Bail money? For me to help break him out? Or maybe he really, really wants his organ donor status revoked right away because it has cursed him so badly that he is in JAIL.

This whole experience has made me feel grateful that getting a call from some guy residing in a state prison does not happen to me often. And I am not really expecting to receive any further calls from the pen. However if you do ever see me on the Jerry Springer show, crying about how even though my incarcerated husband Alfred murdered 20 people, he is really a good man and just misunderstood? Please shoot me.

11:16 a.m. - April 13, 2006

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

porktornado
trancejen
twobaddogs
marn
hissandtell
idiot-milk
poolagirl
ann-frank
dangerspouse
purplecigar
lobsterchick
bluemeany
twelvebeer
juddhole
rickscafe
smartypants
crazy4muffin
bigpimpinmba
hooterville
mousemilk
essaywriter
hydrogeek
hollyfae
biodtl
pinkrevolver
catspajamas
reynedecoupe
yeahimadork
hairburner
haloaskew
toastcrumbs
geeked-out
gripewater
tattoobelly
dinahsoar
gumphood
nicim
batten
acaldwell
bonkrood
wickedcrazy
janetplnetoc
porchlife
not-a-finger
scotvalkyrie
danglemyfeet
reader1209
acecoolg
cunhell
katiedoyle