sunshine0221's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Adventuregrrl!

Adventuregrrl!

The Mom is leaving for LA on Wednesday. She has a book coming out, and she's going to be on a TV show in Santa Barbara.

And because Mom is about to become famous, she needed some new shoes, and makeup, and bras for her trip.

I had some kind of amnesia attack regarding Mom's shopping style, and in my oh so optimistic imagination, saw us popping up to Ottumwa, picking up the needed items, and being back home in say, two hours.

Actual duration of trip:

Trying on every pair of athletic shoes in both the women's and men's departments of every store visited - 4 hours.

Discovering that the tag on Mom's bra tag had faded so much the brand was indistinguishable, but she thought it was Playtex, and due to the fact that every bra except for the particular one she had on does not flatter her boobage, and that we had to try on many, many bras to discover this, and luckily I am some kind of bra savant that figured out that her current bra is a Bali not a Playtex, which are sold at a more upscale store than the one we were in. - 1 hour.

Finding every restroom in every store - 1/2 hour.

Going to a nicer store to get a flattering-to-the-boobage Bali bra and purchasing two of said bras - with a free coupon for another bra - 15 minutes.

Noticing that nice store was having a freaking amazing sale, including some racks of really nice clothes for $4.99, and some very cute Tommy jeans (regularly priced at $80.00) on sale for $7.99, plus having Mom sign up for a store credit card for an additional 20% off, then finding the coolest cast iron griddle, and waddling out of the store loaded with bags o'stuff - 1 hour.

Starting to head home and then realize that the salesperson had not included the free bra coupon, and returning to nice store to get it - 15 minutes.

Then, as I was leaving Ottumwa, my car lost power for a few seconds, but then seemed to be fine, until I got to a small town in the middle of nowhere where it completely died, conveniently right in front of a gas station and with enough momentum to make it to the edge of gas station parking lot

When stuff like this happens, I realize how fortunate I am that I live in small town Iowa, where the gas station guy pushed the car to a better place, opened up the hood and tried to help get the car started, and also it turns out makes jewelry and admired Mom's earrings I had made her.

And, for the record, I do not know if my car as carbeurater(sp?). I do not even know how to spell carburator (sp? again), let alone know how to determine if my car has one.

I called Tahmi to get my friend Laura's number to get the number for mechanic as I do not know his last name. Laura was not waiting by the phone for my call (what's with that?), so we called another friend, Bev who came and picked us up. Meanwhile while we're waiting for Bev, the sweetest older guy offered to give us a ride, and really would have, even though we were 15 miles away from home. We decided to wait for Bev, as not being there when she arrived would be on the rudish side.

Bev arrived, we loaded our swag into her car, arrived home safely, called the mechanic who will go get my car tonight, fed the starving cats (Spikey got a whole piece of fish stuck in his funnel (aka e-collar) which was quite amusing), and now I am going to roast some turkey thighs for supper, and finish the very gorgeous website I an working on.

And hey, the whole adventure only took seven and a half hours.

8:39 p.m. - April 18, 2004

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

porktornado
trancejen
twobaddogs
marn
hissandtell
idiot-milk
poolagirl
ann-frank
dangerspouse
purplecigar
lobsterchick
bluemeany
twelvebeer
juddhole
rickscafe
smartypants
crazy4muffin
bigpimpinmba
hooterville
mousemilk
essaywriter
hydrogeek
hollyfae
biodtl
pinkrevolver
catspajamas
reynedecoupe
yeahimadork
hairburner
haloaskew
toastcrumbs
geeked-out
gripewater
tattoobelly
dinahsoar
gumphood
nicim
batten
acaldwell
bonkrood
wickedcrazy
janetplnetoc
porchlife
not-a-finger
scotvalkyrie
danglemyfeet
reader1209
acecoolg
cunhell
katiedoyle