sunshine0221's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Putting the Not in Not Martha

Putting the Not in Not Martha

Apparently, someone is creating a new reality show to find the next Martha Stewart.

I mentioned to Kelly that she should apply.

And she suggested that I apply. I hurt myself laughing.

I would totally be the William Hung of the show.

While the other contestants were making their own furniture out of marzipan and cinnamon sticks, I'd be picking the cat hair out of my deformed marzipan that I somehow got stuck to my pants.

While the other contestants where polishing the immaculate faucet in their immaculate kitchen, I'd be wishing that I had a stuff-you-drop-in-the-kitchen colored floor. That self cleans. Frequently.

Other contestants: presenting a delicious ten course gourmet meal. Me: wondering if nine triscuits count as nine courses because I overslept, forgot to get all of my ingredients, got distracted by something on the web, had to rearrange my TiVo season passes because of an unfortunate conflict, cut my finger because I was rushing, and finally presenting nine triscuits and some questionable cheese that I found at the back of the meat drawer.

I was at a garage sale last weekend, and the woman holding the sale was selling a carpet sweeper, and one of those mini washing machines that were advertised on infomercials a few years ago. She bought them for Y2K because she was afraid we would lose electricity, AND SHE WOULD NOT BE ABLE TO CLEAN.

Yes folks, while I was stockpiling food and candles, and worrying about shelters letting me bring my dogs and the potential end of the world, the Martha of garage sales was concerned that her carpet would be untidy.

I am so humbled.

10:47 p.m. - April 17, 2004

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

porktornado
trancejen
twobaddogs
marn
hissandtell
idiot-milk
poolagirl
ann-frank
dangerspouse
purplecigar
lobsterchick
bluemeany
twelvebeer
juddhole
rickscafe
smartypants
crazy4muffin
bigpimpinmba
hooterville
mousemilk
essaywriter
hydrogeek
hollyfae
biodtl
pinkrevolver
catspajamas
reynedecoupe
yeahimadork
hairburner
haloaskew
toastcrumbs
geeked-out
gripewater
tattoobelly
dinahsoar
gumphood
nicim
batten
acaldwell
bonkrood
wickedcrazy
janetplnetoc
porchlife
not-a-finger
scotvalkyrie
danglemyfeet
reader1209
acecoolg
cunhell
katiedoyle