sunshine0221's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

The Saga of the Unopenable Handbag

The Saga of the Unopenable Handbag

I am still here, and have much I should be blogging about, but have seemed to have taken an unplanned hiatus.

I also had kind of an adventure yesterday. I drove up to Iowa City with the Mom to pick up my new computer (yay!). This was not an extravagant purchase, due to the fact that my old computer, while still running fine, has an illegal operating system, and Microsoft is slowly but surely making things not work. I could deal with not getting critical security updates, but when my Media Player stopped working, that was the last straw. So I was off to Office Depot to pick up my shiny, new computer. (No, Kelly, I did not get a Mac. It was tempting, and I LOVE the commercials, but they cost like 5 times more than a PC).

Before stopping to get my computer, I drove the Mom to the UPS store where she was having our family portraits packed and shipped to my cousin in Boston. Having seen the UPS store commercial with the helpful Asian man who will pack and ship anything perfectly and cheerfully, I was hoping that the real thing was just as good. And other than costing $60 for just the packing, they did do a cheerful and good job.

There was a Great Clips right next door to the UPS store, and having suffered with a bad haircut for two weeks that unfortunately is now immortalized in both my driver's license and passport photos, I decided I would run in and hopefully get the wrong part of my hair fixed. I used to do the more expensive, wait two weeks for an appointment thingie (and they do make you wait even if having an enormous hair emergency), but discovered that the quickie places usually do just as good a job. Ten minutes later, with new and improved hair (much better!) I grabbed my car keys out of my purse, met the Mom outside, and then went to zip my purse back up. And the whole zipper thingie came off. Not just the pull'y thing - the actually part that zips and unzips the zipper. I now had a purse with a closed zipper that I had absolutely no way to open. Fortunately I did still have my car keys in my hand, and also fortunately was near Target where I had purchased the purse. I drove right over there and walked up to Customer Service.

Me: "Hi. Have a problem with a purse I bought here last week. Zipper broke, and I can't get into it. See?"
Customer Service Person: "Do you have your receipt?"
Me" "No I do not. Was not expecting to have to return this purse. I would be keeping it except I CAN'T GET ANYTHING IN OR OUT OF IT""
Customer Service Person: "No problem, did you pay by credit card?"
Me: " Yup."
CSP: "Good, then I just need to see your credit card."
Me: " Err, it is in my purse. That I cannot open."
CSP: "Oh."
Male Customer Service Person: (while pulling out a big knife) "I can fix that."

And all is well that ends well. The unopenable purse was sliced open, and all purse objects were retrieved and transferred to new, identical purse that will hopefully not make itself unopenable.

6:56 p.m. - June 02, 2007

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

porktornado
trancejen
twobaddogs
marn
hissandtell
idiot-milk
poolagirl
ann-frank
dangerspouse
purplecigar
lobsterchick
bluemeany
twelvebeer
juddhole
rickscafe
smartypants
crazy4muffin
bigpimpinmba
hooterville
mousemilk
essaywriter
hydrogeek
hollyfae
biodtl
pinkrevolver
catspajamas
reynedecoupe
yeahimadork
hairburner
haloaskew
toastcrumbs
geeked-out
gripewater
tattoobelly
dinahsoar
gumphood
nicim
batten
acaldwell
bonkrood
wickedcrazy
janetplnetoc
porchlife
not-a-finger
scotvalkyrie
danglemyfeet
reader1209
acecoolg
cunhell
katiedoyle