sunshine0221's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

I Wish I Could Say

I Wish I Could Say That I Have Been Slacking in the Journal Updating Arena Because David Boreanaz Showed Up at My Door and We Ran Away to Aruba, But Really I Don't Have a Good Excuse

I was late to work this morning because the guy-who-does-work-on-the-house was attempting to show me how my boiler works. I have water heat, which I love, but the whole system pretty much baffles me. I found out why that when I finally break down and turn on my heat in the Fall, sometime the heat goes on, and sometimes it doesn't. This has always been a complete mystery to me. Apparently my zone valves are petty little diva bitches and sometimes just cannot be bothered with the doing whatever zone valves do to make the heat go on. I also learned how to MAKE the zone valves go on, whether or not they want to. Fear me, zone valves!!


I have been finally getting to some of the non-emergency projects in the house that I have been meaning to for a looong time. The stupid raised floor in the kitchen? Gone. The faucet in the laundry room that fell off? Replaced. The really ugly mini-blind that wasn�t even long enough to cover the whole window in the bathroom? Is now a pretty sheer curtain on a bamboo rod I made myself.

What I really, really want to replace next is my butt-ugly vanity. It is wood, and has a metal band around the sink that requires constant toothbrushing so it doesn�t look gross, and the top is wood. Wood. That gets water on it all the time and is therefore not looking so attractive.

I was very excited when I discovered a nice, clean looking white vanity with one piece sink and top thingie at Home Depot. For 80 bucks. And then I found a beautiful pedestal sink for around the same price. How could I go wrong? I have learned my lesson about impulse buying, and assuming things will fit, so I wrote down the specs on both sinks and then checked with dude who does work around the house to see what would be most practical. As I suspected the vanity would be a lot easier to install. The pedestal sink would involve moving the drain, and also a bunch of drywall work. My new bathroom vanity was looking good � until the following conversation with dude who does work on my house:

Me: WOOOOOOOEEEEEE!!! A new vanity!!!!
Dude Who Does Work on House: Well actually, when I measuring your current vanity I noticed how well made it is.
Me: Screw well made! It�s fugly and it must die.
DWDWOH: You know the vanities that they sell at Home Depot are cheap and poorly made.
Me: And oh so pretty!
DWDWOH: It will fall apart. It is very poorly made.
Me: I don�t care! It�s cheap! I�ll just get another one.
DWDWOH: The one you have is so well built. Maybe you could just get a new top for it.
Me: But I like the nice white vanity at Home Depot! It�s pretty! And I am superficial! Pretty wins!

So now I am consumed with guilt at the thought of replacing my ugly well-built vanity with something I actually like, and if we Frankenstein the current vanity, the least expensive replacement top I can find is 200 bucks, which is like two and half new pretty white vanities from Home Depot, and I am wondering if maybe I could accidentally blow up, or run over the old vanity, thus alleviating any guilt over replacing it with a pretty new white vanity that only costs $80 at Home Depot.

10:58 p.m. - October 15, 2005

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

porktornado
trancejen
twobaddogs
marn
hissandtell
idiot-milk
poolagirl
ann-frank
dangerspouse
purplecigar
lobsterchick
bluemeany
twelvebeer
juddhole
rickscafe
smartypants
crazy4muffin
bigpimpinmba
hooterville
mousemilk
essaywriter
hydrogeek
hollyfae
biodtl
pinkrevolver
catspajamas
reynedecoupe
yeahimadork
hairburner
haloaskew
toastcrumbs
geeked-out
gripewater
tattoobelly
dinahsoar
gumphood
nicim
batten
acaldwell
bonkrood
wickedcrazy
janetplnetoc
porchlife
not-a-finger
scotvalkyrie
danglemyfeet
reader1209
acecoolg
cunhell
katiedoyle