sunshine0221's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Be Careful what You Wish For

Be Careful What You Wish For�

I know I�ve been semi-whining about the lack of excitement in my life, but I should have been more specific � I�m looking for GOOD excitement, not Realize-30-Miles-Outside- Of-Town-At-The-Gas-Station-On-the-Way-To-Iowa-City-That-My-Wallet-Is-Not-In-My-Purse excitement.

Luckily the gas station knows me, they took a check (glad I don�t use the attached check thingie in my wallet) with no ID, no questions asked.

I was taking mom to the dentist again, we pooled our money and had around $35. Not enough for lunch and prospective book purchases.

My next thought was, �No prob, I�ll just use my ATM card to get some cash.� Followed by, �Oh CRAP, it�s in my WALLET� (along with my driver�s license, AmEx card, and most of my cash).

I dropped mom off at the dentist after we carefully split up our money. I ended up with $18.00. After mailing some books, I had $13.

I dropped off some stuff at the consignment store, and woohoo there was an $87 credit for stuff that had sold. Which I couldn�t get out without ID.

I stopped at the Goodwill to book shop. Found some great books, and wondered if they take checks. Not without ID, nosiree. So I budgeted myself and spent around $11.

So now I�m down to $2, plus the change at the bottom of my purse.

I also couldn�t stop worrying that I would get stopped by the cops for something, the one day in the past 25 years that I don�t have my driver�s license. I have never been so careful about sticking to the speed limit.

I went and picked up mom, and we had lunch. Down to $7 between us now.

Went back to the consignment store, where mom could get the bucks out, as she had not lost her wallet. �Cept they didn�t have cash, so wrote a check, which again mom could cash as she actually had ID on her.

Went back to Goodwill, I found some more books, and then I hit the shopping jackpot � I found a Dooney & Bourke purse, in mint condition, with a matching D & B wallet inside. For $1.38. As in one dollar and thirty eight cents. Total retail value approximately $400.

I love thrift stores.

I made it home with no police experiences, and went into my office and checked my desk, where I was sure I had left my wallet. It wasn�t there.

No wallet. Nada, nothing, arrrghhh!

I would post a picture of it, except it would horrify my readers. My office looks like Barnes & Noble exploded. I have boxes and bags and piles of books everywhere. I could lose an elephant in my office � my poor wallet didn�t stand a chance.

After much whining, help from the mom, book organizing, and promises to God that I will never, ever complain about anything ever again if He would just help me find my wallet, I looked over to the spot next to my desk where my wallet definitely hadn�t been, and it was there!!! Woo!!

I kissed my driver�s license, and my AmEx card, and my cash, and then started to wonder what will happen the first time I break my promise to The Big Guy. Which, hey, let�s face it, I gotta complain sometimes.

So all in all a good day. Cool purse, no speeding tickets, scrounged enough cash to do everything I needed to do, and I found my wallet. Just don�t be standing next to me when I start the complaining.

8:49 p.m. - May 29, 2003

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

porktornado
trancejen
twobaddogs
marn
hissandtell
idiot-milk
poolagirl
ann-frank
dangerspouse
purplecigar
lobsterchick
bluemeany
twelvebeer
juddhole
rickscafe
smartypants
crazy4muffin
bigpimpinmba
hooterville
mousemilk
essaywriter
hydrogeek
hollyfae
biodtl
pinkrevolver
catspajamas
reynedecoupe
yeahimadork
hairburner
haloaskew
toastcrumbs
geeked-out
gripewater
tattoobelly
dinahsoar
gumphood
nicim
batten
acaldwell
bonkrood
wickedcrazy
janetplnetoc
porchlife
not-a-finger
scotvalkyrie
danglemyfeet
reader1209
acecoolg
cunhell
katiedoyle