sunshine0221's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

The Obligatory Valentine's Day Entry

The Obligatory Valentine's Day Entry

First off, I am not going to whine.

I am not going to rant about the prospects of a perpetually-single future which will culminate in my dying alone, with lots of cats, and the long-delayed discovery of my body by the UPS man.

Because that would be whiny.

So instead, may I present The Top Six Reasons I Am Glad To Be Single On Valentines' Day:

6. No chocolates. I have absolutely no willpower. I would woof those puppies down so fast all you would see is a blur, and my ass assuredly does not need to be any bigger.

5. No societally-prescribed expensive, romantic dinner. Truth be told, I think eating take-out sushi at home while watching American Idol in my PJ's is way cooler.

4. No expensive gifts of jewelry that would create an obligation to express my appreciation with sexual favors. I have nothing against sexual favors per se, but am staunchly anti-obligation.

3. The Wrong Gift. Is there anything more awkward than when someone, with the best of intentions, gets you something that they think you will love, but you totally don�t? And then you have to pretend and things get all strained, and you accidentally blurt out something like, � A VACUUM???? What kind of moron are you that you didn�t know that I really wanted Seasons 2 � 5, and 7 Buffy DVDs???? Do you ever listen to a word I say??!!" Which then culminates in breaking up on Valentine�s Day which is much more pathetic than just being single.

2. Availability. If you happen to bump into, say, David Boreanaz, and he instantly falls in love with you and invites you to come live with him in his villa in France, you won�t have to regretfully decline because you are in a committed relationship.

1. No pressure. I don�t have to dress up, feel romantic, or purchase the perfect gift.

Happy Valentine�s Day!

9:34 p.m. - February 13, 2005

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

porktornado
trancejen
twobaddogs
marn
hissandtell
idiot-milk
poolagirl
ann-frank
dangerspouse
purplecigar
lobsterchick
bluemeany
twelvebeer
juddhole
rickscafe
smartypants
crazy4muffin
bigpimpinmba
hooterville
mousemilk
essaywriter
hydrogeek
hollyfae
biodtl
pinkrevolver
catspajamas
reynedecoupe
yeahimadork
hairburner
haloaskew
toastcrumbs
geeked-out
gripewater
tattoobelly
dinahsoar
gumphood
nicim
batten
acaldwell
bonkrood
wickedcrazy
janetplnetoc
porchlife
not-a-finger
scotvalkyrie
danglemyfeet
reader1209
acecoolg
cunhell
katiedoyle