sunshine0221's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

The Untitled Entry

I Totally Can�t Think of a Title for this Entry

I just finished reading Confessions of a Shopaholic. It was much better than most of the Bridget Jones wannabes, and it made me feel superior, because compared to Rebecca, I am a puritan non-shopper. I mean I've never spent 200 pounds for a scarf. Actually I've never spent any pounds, as have not been to the UK, but you get my point. And I really did look for the proper pound symbol, but couldn�t find it.

What is it with us humans making ourselves feel better by comparing ourselves to others? Do we really need to makes ourselves feel better by comparing ourselves to people who have performed more spectacular stupid/irresponsible/excessive acts than we have?

Because if that�s what it takes, we should all be feeling good about ourselves about now. I mean, we�re not the ones declaring war on Iraq because we think that maybe there might be weapons around there somewhere, plus they just pissed us off. And I know my self-esteem catapulted to new heights when I heard about the bank robber who used one of his own deposit slips, complete with name, address, and phone number to write his hold-up note. And every day one does not become a Darwin Award is a pretty darn good day. We can all be proud that we�re not the following award recipient:

�The three tenets of rock climbing are teamwork, safety, and belaying. These are especially important on a mountain as difficult as Devil's Thumb, where weather, isolation, and terrain mean help can be days away, even with the instant communication offered by a cell phone.

Yet Marc, 30, left his team behind and climbed solo because he wanted "to improve reception on his cell phone." Fifty feet up from the base camp at 7000 feet, Mark had his cell phone in his hand when he disturbed a rock, started a landslide, and was buried under 1500 feet of gravel and boulders.

When his companions were told that it was impossible to retrieve his body, they agreed that it was a fitting burial place for the avid climber who died doing what he loved. It was not clear whether they referred to mountain climbing, or speaking on the cell phone. �

And yeah, I know, I�m going to hell for laughing about it.

Another fun and interesting human trait is the ability to justify ANYTHING. Driving 100 miles an hours in a 30 zone? �But officer, I had to get to Krispy Kreme while they were still warm!� Embezzling 100 million dollars from the company you work for? �But they deserved it because they wouldn�t let me order my favorite pens!�

And don�t get me started on the people who get caught on a video camera lying, cheating or stealing, and DENY IT! It�s fairly amusing seeing the auto mechanic who replaced someone�s car engine with an elderly hamster saying, �Nope, I didn�t do it!! Plus I�m allergic to hamsters!�

And yes, I am feeling all virtuous and thrifty, because a fictional character in a novel can shop me under the table. And I also bet she couldn�t get Dr. Martens, a set of vintage silverware, and a mint Scooby Doo Mystery Machine lunchbox � all for under $20. Yes, I am feeling very superior today.

3:10 p.m. - January 25, 2003

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

porktornado
trancejen
twobaddogs
marn
hissandtell
idiot-milk
poolagirl
ann-frank
dangerspouse
purplecigar
lobsterchick
bluemeany
twelvebeer
juddhole
rickscafe
smartypants
crazy4muffin
bigpimpinmba
hooterville
mousemilk
essaywriter
hydrogeek
hollyfae
biodtl
pinkrevolver
catspajamas
reynedecoupe
yeahimadork
hairburner
haloaskew
toastcrumbs
geeked-out
gripewater
tattoobelly
dinahsoar
gumphood
nicim
batten
acaldwell
bonkrood
wickedcrazy
janetplnetoc
porchlife
not-a-finger
scotvalkyrie
danglemyfeet
reader1209
acecoolg
cunhell
katiedoyle