sunshine0221's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

I Almost Got Killed by a Tornado Last Night

I Almost Got Killed By a Tornado Last Night

Yesterday the Mom and I went shopping in Iowa City. Clearly I need to train more for shopping, perhaps with a few Shopping 100 Yard Dashes, or maybe a Shopping Marathon or two, because by the end of the day, I was wiped out, and barely had the energy to lift my arm to swipe my credit card.

I purchased some snazzy pants, a whole bunch of books, and the Mom got a very nice lavender handbag that looked like Chanel and Marc Jacobs got together and had a purse baby. We were all excited that this amazing handbag find was only $10 at the consignment store, until the Mom checked the inside label, and it said �Payless�. Hee! At least we know where to look for the matching wallet.

We arrived home around 9:45, just in time to hear the tornado siren going off. We get a zillion Tornado Watches, but a real live Tornado Warning, accompanied by the tornado siren, is more of a rare occurrence. I turned on the TV, and the weatherman was saying to take cover immediately, wear a helmet (!)if possible, go to a basement or inside room, and basically kiss your ass goodbye.

The Mom did not want to go to the basement, and I did not push the issue because it is creepy and has enormous spiders. I don�t have any rooms without windows in my house, so I herded the Mom and Spike into her bathroom, and tried to catch Teeny. Who was not at all interested in being caught. I finally got him into the bathroom, and then Spike got out. When I finally had all available parental units and cats in the bathroom, I realized that my TiVo was still plugged in, so I bravely ran over to my house to save my TiVo from being attacked by a tornado-induced power surge. That�s right, I risked my life to save my TiVo. And I would do it again.

So there we were, two hungry cats thinking I was weird for locking them in a bathroom, the Mom in the bathtub, and me on the throne with a bathrobe wrapped around my head (I don�t own a helmet). There was some wicked sounding hail and a bunch of rain and thunder. And the weatherman went from, �Oh My God, you are all going to die�, to �Now back to our regularly scheduled programming� without saying that it was ALL OKAY NOW. We waited until the warning expired, and then I freed everyone from the bathroom. And I was very lucky, the only �tornado� damage was an extremely squished tomato plant.

9:59 p.m. - June 05, 2005

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

porktornado
trancejen
twobaddogs
marn
hissandtell
idiot-milk
poolagirl
ann-frank
dangerspouse
purplecigar
lobsterchick
bluemeany
twelvebeer
juddhole
rickscafe
smartypants
crazy4muffin
bigpimpinmba
hooterville
mousemilk
essaywriter
hydrogeek
hollyfae
biodtl
pinkrevolver
catspajamas
reynedecoupe
yeahimadork
hairburner
haloaskew
toastcrumbs
geeked-out
gripewater
tattoobelly
dinahsoar
gumphood
nicim
batten
acaldwell
bonkrood
wickedcrazy
janetplnetoc
porchlife
not-a-finger
scotvalkyrie
danglemyfeet
reader1209
acecoolg
cunhell
katiedoyle