sunshine0221's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Tivo Trauma

Tivo Trauma

The drama du jour is that I UPS'd my Tivo back to Philips to get a modem transplant last Friday. I am handling my Tivo'less state with exceptional grace and aplomb, in my humble opinion.

Being a responsible Tivo owner, I went to track the package online. Am feeling a touch of paranoia and insecurity due to the following exchange:

Teenage Dude Who Works at the Radio Shack That Ships UPS Stuff: "Do you want me to note that this is a Tivo in the comments?"

Me: "Okay, sure, I mean why not?"

TDWWATRSTSUS: "Well, sometimes when a package is insured, and it says what it is, it gets stolen."

Me: "Gah!!! Well then don't say it's a Tivo then! And who steals them??!!! The UPS dude who always wanted a Tivo????"

TDWWATRSTSUS: "Well no, at least I don't think so. There are a lot of non UPS employees who do package handling, and they'll steal it."

Me: "Gah!!!!"

Now I'm picturing a herd of shady characters, maybe on temporary release from prison for stealing very cool electronic devices, like Tivos, with their paws all over my Tivo!!!

Ergo, the tracking.

And there was no trace of my package in the UPS system.

The first thing that went through my mind is that the TDWWATRSTSUS took it home and never shipped it. Got a clear mental picture of him pausing Angel to answer a phone call. Gah!!!!

Then called UPS. The customer service dude I spoke with was all calm and reassuring, and said that it probably hadn't made it to any of the scanning stations yet.

"But I shipped it Friday!!! That's four days ago!!!!"

The UPS guy calmly explained that Saturday and Sunday are weekend days, and that it was before noon on Monday, and he was sure it was okay (yeah, easy for him to be sure - it's not his beloved Tivo). He suggested I check again later today or tomorrow.

I will of course be checking every hour on the hour until I locate my Tivo.

And next time I ship anything remotely attractive I am going to say that it is a urine sample. Or ebola.

4:40 p.m. - October 14, 2002

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

porktornado
trancejen
twobaddogs
marn
hissandtell
idiot-milk
poolagirl
ann-frank
dangerspouse
purplecigar
lobsterchick
bluemeany
twelvebeer
juddhole
rickscafe
smartypants
crazy4muffin
bigpimpinmba
hooterville
mousemilk
essaywriter
hydrogeek
hollyfae
biodtl
pinkrevolver
catspajamas
reynedecoupe
yeahimadork
hairburner
haloaskew
toastcrumbs
geeked-out
gripewater
tattoobelly
dinahsoar
gumphood
nicim
batten
acaldwell
bonkrood
wickedcrazy
janetplnetoc
porchlife
not-a-finger
scotvalkyrie
danglemyfeet
reader1209
acecoolg
cunhell
katiedoyle