sunshine0221's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

This Old House

This Old House

My house is old. I mean we�re talking built-before-Civil-War old.

Which means that instead of smoothly working windows with attached storms and screens, I have ancient, don�t-go-up-and-down-so-good-since-the-tragic-settling-of-the-foundation-100-years-ago windows.

With separate aluminum storm windows. As anyone who has these lovely add-ons knows � they suck. They work great the first time you use them, but it�s downhill from there. Some kind of fast moving window virus infects them, and before you know it, the storm window sticks and comes apart and falls out. And the screen magically changes size and doesn�t fit anymore, and things like bats, and huge flying insects gain entrance.

It got hot yesterday. In the 80�s. So before I went to bed I really needed to open some windows. Hah! I have two windows in my bedroom. There�s the one-that-works-okay-except-it doesn�t-stay-up-by-itself-so-I-have-to-hold-it-open-with-a-piece-of-wood-window. I decided to go for this one first over the must-be-located-over-a-rapidly-sinking-hellmouth-that-is-so-hard-to-open-or-close-that-Vin-Diesel-would-pull-a-muscle-even-trying window.

I went for the easier one first. I gracefully heave up the window while simultaneously installed the piece of wood that holds it up. There was some kind of thing stuck between the top of the stick and the window. It�s either an alarmingly large dust bunny�. or a dessicated bat. I abandon that window in case it is a bat. Better to deal with icky stuff when it�s light out, ya know?

So I head over to the other window. With much effort I get it up like two inches, not nearly high enough to access the hanging at a strange angle storm window.

I am now even hotter, and was not any closer to cooling down my bedroom. So I turned on my ceiling fan and went to bed.

[Note: Upon inspection, it was indeed a dust bunny, not a bat. I prefer to have to confess to poor housekeeping than to have to deal with a dead bat, so I�ll chalk this one up as a win.]

12:02 p.m. - April 16, 2003

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

porktornado
trancejen
twobaddogs
marn
hissandtell
idiot-milk
poolagirl
ann-frank
dangerspouse
purplecigar
lobsterchick
bluemeany
twelvebeer
juddhole
rickscafe
smartypants
crazy4muffin
bigpimpinmba
hooterville
mousemilk
essaywriter
hydrogeek
hollyfae
biodtl
pinkrevolver
catspajamas
reynedecoupe
yeahimadork
hairburner
haloaskew
toastcrumbs
geeked-out
gripewater
tattoobelly
dinahsoar
gumphood
nicim
batten
acaldwell
bonkrood
wickedcrazy
janetplnetoc
porchlife
not-a-finger
scotvalkyrie
danglemyfeet
reader1209
acecoolg
cunhell
katiedoyle