sunshine0221's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Introducing Teeny!

Introducing Teeny!

Two Fridays ago I was dropping some books off at the Post Office, and I saw a teeny tiny kitten cross a busy street and run down the alley next to the drive-through mail box.

He was tiny.

I parked the car and tried to catch him. He disappeared in a pile of trash under a parked semi trailer.

I went and got some coffee across the street, came back and he was under a truck. Again, tried to catch him, and he disappeared behind the local internet service provider building.

At this point I realized that teeny kitten catching is a two person sport, and went back to the office where I called everyone I knew, got irrationally mad at my friends who were not home waiting by the phone for me to call them to help catch a kitty, and finally reached my friend Bev, who agreed to come help.

We met behind the Post office and there was no sign of tiny kitty. The afternoon turned into a kitten scavenger hunt. Everyone had seen him somewhere. We followed the kitty trail, and finally we caught him in an inside alley by the French restaurant.

We deposited the kitty in my bathroom, I made him a bed, and a tiny kitty fort with my kitchen stool, and gave him a oven mitt for his comfort object.

In just four days he transformed from hissing-wild-kitty-hiding-in-the-corner-of-his-box to extremely cute snuggly purry kitty.

And the story does not end there. Teeny's been to the vet a few times, of course, and got his shots, etc. I noticed that he was losing hair on his ears, and had the vet check again and be sure he did not have ear mites. He doesn't. I also noticed that my left arm - the arm he sleeps on when I'm holding him, which is a lot (he likes to be held)- was getting kinda itchy.

And then today it got itchier, and I noticed that I had a round irritated-looking thingie on my arm. The one that Teeny is always on.

I stopped by the vet this afternoon to show him my arm, and long story short, Teeny and I are both slathering ourselves with ringworm medicine, well I do Teeny's slathering for him.

I HAVE RINGWORM!

And I also had my very first vet appointment. and for the record, much better experience than the human doctor. No waiting, and cheaper too. I highly recommend it.

Thankfully there are no actual worms involved in this, or else I would have been too grossed out to be near myself.

With my other cats, the naming thing came very easily. It did for Teeny too, until Kelly informed that with a name like Teeny Weeny, my precious kitten will get beaten up at recess and never get a good-paying job. Gah!

I've tried everything. Buffy related? Nope, nothing that's right for him. He is not a Xander or a Giles. French! Also couldn't find anything that felt right. I spent hours on cat naming websites. No luck. so Teeny he remains.

Welcome to the family little dude.


Teeny's first picture - he was still wild


Getting Tamer


Very tame now, and he loves his brother Spike

9:21 p.m. - December 08, 2004

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

porktornado
trancejen
twobaddogs
marn
hissandtell
idiot-milk
poolagirl
ann-frank
dangerspouse
purplecigar
lobsterchick
bluemeany
twelvebeer
juddhole
rickscafe
smartypants
crazy4muffin
bigpimpinmba
hooterville
mousemilk
essaywriter
hydrogeek
hollyfae
biodtl
pinkrevolver
catspajamas
reynedecoupe
yeahimadork
hairburner
haloaskew
toastcrumbs
geeked-out
gripewater
tattoobelly
dinahsoar
gumphood
nicim
batten
acaldwell
bonkrood
wickedcrazy
janetplnetoc
porchlife
not-a-finger
scotvalkyrie
danglemyfeet
reader1209
acecoolg
cunhell
katiedoyle