sunshine0221's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Spikey

Spikey

Last night there was a knock on the door, and it was my neighbor from across the street coming to tell me that she saw Spike get hit by a car.

My heart stopped.

The neighbor and I went across the street to her yard to look for Spikey. After much looking and calling for him, I had a feeling to come home, and found him under the steps of the porch. He was alert, let me pet him, and purred, but wouldn�t come out. I had no idea how to reach through and pull him out without hurting him.

I checked on him every 15 minutes or so, gave him water, and finally went to sleep around 3:00 a.m. This morning at 6:00 I went back out to see him, and he tried to climb out, but just couldn�t manage. I finally figured out how to pull him straight through the bottom of the step, got him settled on a poufy quilt in the living room, and called the vet.

They said to bring him right in, Spikey was an angel in the car, and he has a broken leg. I feel awful. He has to stay there today, have surgery on his leg tomorrow, after the vet makes sure he has no other injuries, and then stay there a few days more.

I am feeling all kinds of guilty. I shouldn�t have let him outside. I know he�s a baby, not a street savvy outdoor cat. I wanted to him to be able to be outside, and have fun, and run and play. I didn�t want him to ever be hurt, or suffer, or be scared.

I am so proud of him that he knew to come home. I can�t even imagine the feeling of knowing he was hurt and not being able to find him. I am eternally grateful that his injuries weren't worse, and I miss the little hairball more than I can say.

3:11 p.m. - December 30, 2002

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

porktornado
trancejen
twobaddogs
marn
hissandtell
idiot-milk
poolagirl
ann-frank
dangerspouse
purplecigar
lobsterchick
bluemeany
twelvebeer
juddhole
rickscafe
smartypants
crazy4muffin
bigpimpinmba
hooterville
mousemilk
essaywriter
hydrogeek
hollyfae
biodtl
pinkrevolver
catspajamas
reynedecoupe
yeahimadork
hairburner
haloaskew
toastcrumbs
geeked-out
gripewater
tattoobelly
dinahsoar
gumphood
nicim
batten
acaldwell
bonkrood
wickedcrazy
janetplnetoc
porchlife
not-a-finger
scotvalkyrie
danglemyfeet
reader1209
acecoolg
cunhell
katiedoyle