sunshine0221's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Spike Update

Spike Update

Spikey�s home. I picked him up at 4:00 this afternoon. His leg looks like Frankenkitty. He�s doing fine, but his leg obviously hurts.

Every time I bring an animal home from the vet I am given one impossible thing to do. With Sunshine, when he hurt his back, it was not to let him walk on bare floors, or stairs. My house is wall to wall wood floors. And I have stairs. For Spike, the orders were to have him sleep somewhere warm. I foufed up a quilt and put it by a nice radiant space heater. Spike is a cat. He has slept under my jewelry bench, on the bathroom rug, on top of his catnip scratchy thing, and in my office. He�s not going anywhere near his warm foufy quilt.

He also has to have antibiotics twice a day. The vet asked if I wanted pills or liquid. I chose liquid, naively thinking it would be easier to get down him. I�ve read the joke about giving cats pills, and I�m no dummy. I know I�ve mentioned I�m a dog person, and I really am. To give a dog any kind of medication you stick it in something tasty and feed it to them. They then eat the whatever, and are duly medicated. I took the nice pink antibiotic liquid, filled up the dropper, chased Spike around the kitchen, tried to get him to hold still without touching his hurt leg, while simultaneously getting the dropper in his mouth and shooting his antibiotic down him. Not easy let me tell you, but I finally accidentally must have done something right because we did it.

The vet also warned me that Buffy would not recognize Spike because he�ll smell different. I scoffed, and of course he was right. There has been much hissing and Buffy keeps giving me the hairy eyeball. For bringing home a strange cat. Which is just weird to me. It's Spike. I am glad humans don�t have the same issue. I can�t even imagine not recognizing someone because they changed their shampoo or something. That would be too freaky.

There was never a question of Spike having whatever medical treatment he needs, but I was concerned what surgery and five days at the vet�s would cost. I was pleasantly surprised when the bill turned out to be $235. I think that�s incredible. Spike has to have the pin taken out of his leg in 5 or 6 weeks, and I�ll feel much better (and Spike will too) when his leg isn�t so sore.

8:22 p.m. - January 03, 2003

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

porktornado
trancejen
twobaddogs
marn
hissandtell
idiot-milk
poolagirl
ann-frank
dangerspouse
purplecigar
lobsterchick
bluemeany
twelvebeer
juddhole
rickscafe
smartypants
crazy4muffin
bigpimpinmba
hooterville
mousemilk
essaywriter
hydrogeek
hollyfae
biodtl
pinkrevolver
catspajamas
reynedecoupe
yeahimadork
hairburner
haloaskew
toastcrumbs
geeked-out
gripewater
tattoobelly
dinahsoar
gumphood
nicim
batten
acaldwell
bonkrood
wickedcrazy
janetplnetoc
porchlife
not-a-finger
scotvalkyrie
danglemyfeet
reader1209
acecoolg
cunhell
katiedoyle