sunshine0221's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

A Soft Place To fall

A Soft Place to Fall

I took the emode Why Are You Still Single? test, and these were my results:

You, more than others, have a fairy tale fantasy of how things should be. Ever since you were a kid, you've probably dreamed of the perfect wedding, coming home to a white picket fence, dog, and 2.2 kids (how does that work, anyway?). When someone asks what you're looking for, you don't skip a beat: You're likely to have a handy checklist that details your perfect partner. Hair and eye color, height, religion, education, career, interests, the list goes on.

While it's great to have standards � Hey, you shouldn't have to settle, after all � there's one slight glitch in your master plan: No one has made the grade in real life � at least not yet. Next time you're out with someone, keep yourself from mentally checking that list, and give love � and others � a chance. That special someone who you've written off may be perfect for you after all...

I agree on the not settling thingie. On the other hand, the checklist of physical characteristics, not true. I don�t have list of height, religion, etc. A three foot tall chicken sacrificing satan worshipper would be a problem, but other than that, I�m pretty open minded. I also don�t care what kind of fence we have, or where my fictional prospective husband and I live. What I do care about is loving him so much that all the stupid details don�t matter.

But back to settling. I don�t think I can. I think settling, for me anyway, would be the biggest hugest hairiest mistake I could make. I don�t do settle well.

A friend of mine got married last year. I suspect that if you look in the dictionary under �settle�, her picture would be there. Before she got married, when she talked about her fianc�, it was pretty much about how he bored her silly, how he was clingy and possessive, and how she was depressed being around him. If I could go back in time, I�d say something to her. I haven�t seen her since the wedding, mainly because her husband can�t stand it if she goes anywhere without him, or has a life, or sees her friends. I sum this one up as my worst nightmare, and I feel vicariously smothered and miserable just thinking about it.

I was watching Dr. Phil last week. Yes, I�m pretty much a Dr. Phil addict now, thanks for asking. The show was on women who couldn�t commit. Dr. Phil said something to one of the women that almost made me cry. This particular woman had a great guy who was head over heels in love with her, and she had just broken up with him, and Dr. Phil said, �But wouldn�t it be wonderful to have a soft place to fall?�

That really got to me for some reason. I want a soft place to fall. I want to, once in a while, throw up my hands and hand the responsibilities over to someone else, even for a few days. That would be wonderfully incredible.

So what am I trying to say here? That I�m a founding member of the Church of Those Who Really Couldn�t Settle If Their Lives Depended On It.

And also that I wouldn�t mind the fairy tale. Not one bit.

5:36 p.m. - January 02, 2003

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

porktornado
trancejen
twobaddogs
marn
hissandtell
idiot-milk
poolagirl
ann-frank
dangerspouse
purplecigar
lobsterchick
bluemeany
twelvebeer
juddhole
rickscafe
smartypants
crazy4muffin
bigpimpinmba
hooterville
mousemilk
essaywriter
hydrogeek
hollyfae
biodtl
pinkrevolver
catspajamas
reynedecoupe
yeahimadork
hairburner
haloaskew
toastcrumbs
geeked-out
gripewater
tattoobelly
dinahsoar
gumphood
nicim
batten
acaldwell
bonkrood
wickedcrazy
janetplnetoc
porchlife
not-a-finger
scotvalkyrie
danglemyfeet
reader1209
acecoolg
cunhell
katiedoyle