sunshine0221's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

I'm Having a Journaling Slump But I Have a Good Excuse

I'm Having a Journaling Slump But I Have a Good Excuse

It started around six weeks ago. My computer slowed down. It couldn't handle running Word and anything else. It started taking 10 minutes to open a pdf file, then whinging that it didn't have enough virtual memory.

I knew it was whinging because the week before my trusty computer only ran out of virtual memory when I Photoshopped something big. In the good old days, I could multitask.

I have up-to-date virus protection, I run full virus scans which tell me that my computer has not contracted any kind of disease via unsafe computing.

I don't open suspicious attachments, or say "yes" when a random website asks if I want to install something.

I've scandisked, and defragged.

But my computer still acts like there is a huge, memory-sucking process going on in the background.

I'm worried that my system has somehow been infiltrated, and that the FBI, or Homeland Security, or whoever prosecutes computer crime, will show up at my door and charge me with spearheading a Denial of Service attack on Microsoft, or Amazon (which, ironically, would explain my slow Amazon sales).

The latest development is getting a lot of Page Not Found errors when browsing, which is really irritating, and like I'm going to believe my browser can't find Yahoo?

As soon as I can open a word processing document at the same time as say, email, I'm going to write a spiffy joy-filled entry celebrating my computer's miraculous recovery.

I'll keep ya posted.

11:20 p.m. - March 26, 2004

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

porktornado
trancejen
twobaddogs
marn
hissandtell
idiot-milk
poolagirl
ann-frank
dangerspouse
purplecigar
lobsterchick
bluemeany
twelvebeer
juddhole
rickscafe
smartypants
crazy4muffin
bigpimpinmba
hooterville
mousemilk
essaywriter
hydrogeek
hollyfae
biodtl
pinkrevolver
catspajamas
reynedecoupe
yeahimadork
hairburner
haloaskew
toastcrumbs
geeked-out
gripewater
tattoobelly
dinahsoar
gumphood
nicim
batten
acaldwell
bonkrood
wickedcrazy
janetplnetoc
porchlife
not-a-finger
scotvalkyrie
danglemyfeet
reader1209
acecoolg
cunhell
katiedoyle