sunshine0221's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Mamas Don't let Your Babies Grow Up to be Salespeople

Mamas Don't let Your Babies Grow Up to be Salespeople

This AlphaBytes entry brought to you by the letters F and U

I have a lot of catching up to do here.

I started a J O B. I will now not have to go work at a fast food establishment and smell like french fries. I am very relieved.

Right now I'm working 11:00 a.m. to 7:00 or so, and I am ashamed to admit that I am usually scrambling to get to work on time.

And when I leave work, I am zonked. I want to go home, put my feet up, pet my cats, and watch mindless TV. Oh, and get waited on by scantily clad handymen, but that's so not happening.

Anyway, today after work I stopped by the library because they sell discards for 25 cents and I hadn't been there for a few weeks.I noticed that there was a meeting for a multi-level organization in the meeting room.

I book-shopped, found a few books to check out, and headed for the exit. As I passed through the lobby, I was accosted by a gentleman who apparently was a member of the aforementioned multi-level company.

Now I try not to judge people based on their professions, I mean I was this close to having a nametag job - but this guy was overly friendly, overly pushy, and did not listen. A salesman. For a multi-level organization.

I was tired, I wanted to go home.

His opening line - "What are you doing in five minutes?"

I hate this kind of question. One sign of weakness, and you'll find yourself either helping someone move, or even worse, attending a multi-level marketing meeting.

Me: "Going home - long day." [I know, I know in the old days I worked 8 hours before breakfast, but hey I'm a work-wuss now]

Him: "We're having a meeting!"

Me: "I can see that. I'm not interested."

Him: "But these are wonderful, healthy products!"

Me: "No thanks."

And here is where it got good. I have done some sales. I can't imagine that the following sales approach would work very often. Unless by "work" one means "getting one's ass kicked".

Him: "How would you like to weigh half of what you weigh now this time next year?"

I was struck speechless by his stunningly skillful sales technique - basically telling me I am really, really fat.

I was somehow able to resist the pull of his sales approach, and me and my fat ass made our departure.

Sometime next Tuesday I'll think of the perfect witty yet cutting response I should have responded with.

11:38 p.m. - June 23, 2004

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

porktornado
trancejen
twobaddogs
marn
hissandtell
idiot-milk
poolagirl
ann-frank
dangerspouse
purplecigar
lobsterchick
bluemeany
twelvebeer
juddhole
rickscafe
smartypants
crazy4muffin
bigpimpinmba
hooterville
mousemilk
essaywriter
hydrogeek
hollyfae
biodtl
pinkrevolver
catspajamas
reynedecoupe
yeahimadork
hairburner
haloaskew
toastcrumbs
geeked-out
gripewater
tattoobelly
dinahsoar
gumphood
nicim
batten
acaldwell
bonkrood
wickedcrazy
janetplnetoc
porchlife
not-a-finger
scotvalkyrie
danglemyfeet
reader1209
acecoolg
cunhell
katiedoyle