sunshine0221's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Attack of the Purple People

Attack of the Purple People

Okay, so last week, I was turning off my TV with my TiVo remote, as I have done a million times, and I hit the wrong button or combo of buttons, and it accessed the tint control on my TV and turned up the pink big time. We�re talking glowing fluorescent purple people here. Fairly alarming, but the real horror was cooking shows. There something just wrong with bright blue glowing meat and shocking pink carrots.

Photoshop Assisted Recreation of the Evil Purple.

In case you are wondering, I bought my TV in �91. I have cable. And a TiVo. In other words I never use my TV remote. I used the cable remote, then the TiVo one. Do you think I still have the TV remote? No way Jose.

Plan A was to go buy a TV at Wal Mart, use the remote to fix the purple, and then return it. Then Tahmi suggested a universal remote, which is way less pain in the buttish than buying a TV for an hour. Went to Wal Mart � uhh yeah � small town � pretty much only place to shop, and got a $7 Sanyo universal remote. I felt like a genius when I got it to control the TV with the very first code I tried. Then like less of a genius when I could not access the tint control. I hit every button, I prayed to the TV Gods, all the while being blinded by fluorescent purple people.

Then I saw it, the Reset button!! I pushed it, and instantly had people colored people!!! I kissed the remote, I marveled at the lack of glow, I switched to the food channel just so I could see food that looked right. I plan on giving the universal remote a place of honor on the coffee table as it saved me from burning out my purple sensors.

The other (petty I know � there are starving children in vowel challenged countries) issue I have is that Mediacom keeps changing the channel lineup. First they moved WB from channel. 20 to 18. Then they moved Bravo, Now they have scrambled the 200 range of channels, which include Style, and BBC America, and Trio. It is horrific to think that you are recording a really cool Brilliant But Cancelled show and when you go to watch it it�s freaking DEER HUNTING!!!

It took me six weeks, 12 phone calls, and more emails than I can count to get the WB straightened out. Bravo only took two weeks and one email. I emailed TiVo today about the 200�s, and also emailed Mediacom and suggested that who am I to criticize their weekly channel scrambling, but, like, maybe they could tell people they�re doing it??? I mean, my life is enriched by What Not To Wear. I don�t need to be erroneously recording The Fishing Channel ya know?

10:12 p.m. - September 07, 2003

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

porktornado
trancejen
twobaddogs
marn
hissandtell
idiot-milk
poolagirl
ann-frank
dangerspouse
purplecigar
lobsterchick
bluemeany
twelvebeer
juddhole
rickscafe
smartypants
crazy4muffin
bigpimpinmba
hooterville
mousemilk
essaywriter
hydrogeek
hollyfae
biodtl
pinkrevolver
catspajamas
reynedecoupe
yeahimadork
hairburner
haloaskew
toastcrumbs
geeked-out
gripewater
tattoobelly
dinahsoar
gumphood
nicim
batten
acaldwell
bonkrood
wickedcrazy
janetplnetoc
porchlife
not-a-finger
scotvalkyrie
danglemyfeet
reader1209
acecoolg
cunhell
katiedoyle