sunshine0221's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Dilettante Projects I Want to Start But Really Shouldn't

Dilettante Projects I Want to Start But Really Shouldn't Until I Complete At Least One of the Previous 100 Dillettante Projects That I Have Already Started and Not Yet Finished

1. I am feeling the Urge To Sew. I want to make curtains and slipcovers and oh maybe a whole buncha pillows. And then I would get really good, and design and sew all of my own clothes, thereby saving a bloody fortune in apparel costs, plus looking cool and fashionable. And I could make cat clothes too! And all I need to buy is a sewing machine! And fabric! And zippers and stuff! And oh, about 100 years of sewing lessons, because the last time I sewed anything was in Jr High school, and I was so not good that Yvette Catellier had to thread my sewing machine for me every single time.

2. Make Mineral Makeup. I have this thing where I find something I like, decide it is waaayyy too expensive, and that I must make it myself. The thing is, that in order to do it myself I have to buy all of the ingredients and tools to make said item. So I almost always end up spending a hundred bucks or so for ingredients and tools so that I can save money on a six dollar bar of soap, or $16 thingie of mineral makeup. But how cool to make you own makeup!! I can make colors to match the clothes I design and sew for myself!

3. Soap doesn't really count, because I already have all of the ingredients! I am going to make cool soap!! Hellooo Pina Colada Soap with Sparkles!!

4. Lip Balm. This one also doesn't technically count, because I also have almost all of the ingredients. And I made a batch of prototype sparkly peppermint lip gloss and Kelly liked it!

5. Knitting. My favorite advertising rep came to see us today, and of course I had to give her a tour of the 'hood. There is a very cool store on the square that sells gourmet foods, and ungodly expensive pots and pans, and they had really gorgeous Nigella Tablewear (I want it all) and then we went into the yarn room. Mind you, my last knitting project has been sitting unfinished in the closet for around 18 years now, but you should have seen the gorgeous yarns! There was one that looked like roses when you knit with it! And of course I couldn't fall in love with the cheap acrylic yarn, oh no I had to go for the $13.95 a skein stuff. I could make a $50 scarf - if I ever finished it that is.

6. When I first bought my house it had a hella lot of grass. I hired a wonderful gardener who proceeded to help me make so many flower beds that even if I were totally organized and efficient I could never keep them weeded and taken care of. And of course, I am neither organized nor efficient, so, hello jungle! This year I have hired someone to tame the yard. And he did a great job. But now there are empty spots everywhere. So now I need to buy and plant a zillion plants. Which is what got me into this in the first place.

7. This totally doesn't count, because I actually do not want to do this myself, and am apparently waiting for the drywall fairies to drop by and fix my living room walls, but I do really want the crack in the wall where the door used to be fixed, and then I want to paint and completely redo living room. And I have lived in my house since 1994, and despite a marked lack of drywall fairy visitage, am still hopeful that one morning I will wake up and the drywall repairs will be completed.

11:48 p.m. - September 08, 2005

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

porktornado
trancejen
twobaddogs
marn
hissandtell
idiot-milk
poolagirl
ann-frank
dangerspouse
purplecigar
lobsterchick
bluemeany
twelvebeer
juddhole
rickscafe
smartypants
crazy4muffin
bigpimpinmba
hooterville
mousemilk
essaywriter
hydrogeek
hollyfae
biodtl
pinkrevolver
catspajamas
reynedecoupe
yeahimadork
hairburner
haloaskew
toastcrumbs
geeked-out
gripewater
tattoobelly
dinahsoar
gumphood
nicim
batten
acaldwell
bonkrood
wickedcrazy
janetplnetoc
porchlife
not-a-finger
scotvalkyrie
danglemyfeet
reader1209
acecoolg
cunhell
katiedoyle