sunshine0221's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Portland, Part 1

Portland!!

Part 1

I went to visit Kelly in Portland, Oregon last week. Her evil plot was to dazzle me with Portland�s wonderfulness to inspire me to move there. Now the thing is that I live in small town in Iowa, and therefore am very easily dazzled. A Super Wal Mart would probably do it for me.

And Portland is very wonderful.

I was fortunate and did not experience any travel curses, but I think that was only because my actual itinerary was pretty much a curse. My flight from Moline left at 6 am, which meant I had to leave for the airport at 3 am. Now an organized, efficient person would have pre-packed, gone to bed early, and awakened all fresh and perky just in time to leave for the airport. I, on the other hand, stayed up all night packing, etc., and headed to the airport on absolutely no sleep.

In addition to the ungodly hour of my departure, I was also flying, on the way out, through Atlanta, which added about 3 hours to my flight time because Portland is to the northwest of Iowa, and Atlanta is, well, southeast.



I arrived in Portland around noon, and Kelly met me at the airport. Being a good friend, she took me to downtown Portland where we had some incredibly good sushi at Mio Sushi. Then we went to the Lush store, my first actual in-person visit to one, where I exercised tremendous self control by purchasing only some Angels on Bare Skin, and a Buffy (instead on ten of everything in the store which is what I actually wanted). And Oregon has no sales tax! Makes everything practically free! How cool is that?

We then went to the Portland Rose Garden. I forgot to being my camera, so took pictures with my phone, which of course I have no clue how to get from phone to computer, so here are some pictures I gacked from the internet:







We then picked up Kelly�s daughter, Audrey, at school, and then I got to see Kelly�s very cool new house. It is on the side of a hill, and has the steepest driveway I have ever seen.


And the house is big, and really beautiful. I had the whole bottom level to myself.

And here is the back yard, which is also quite gorgeous, and has a waterfall:


to be continued

4:44 p.m. - October 01, 2006

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

porktornado
trancejen
twobaddogs
marn
hissandtell
idiot-milk
poolagirl
ann-frank
dangerspouse
purplecigar
lobsterchick
bluemeany
twelvebeer
juddhole
rickscafe
smartypants
crazy4muffin
bigpimpinmba
hooterville
mousemilk
essaywriter
hydrogeek
hollyfae
biodtl
pinkrevolver
catspajamas
reynedecoupe
yeahimadork
hairburner
haloaskew
toastcrumbs
geeked-out
gripewater
tattoobelly
dinahsoar
gumphood
nicim
batten
acaldwell
bonkrood
wickedcrazy
janetplnetoc
porchlife
not-a-finger
scotvalkyrie
danglemyfeet
reader1209
acecoolg
cunhell
katiedoyle