sunshine0221's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Lauren the Houseplant Slayer

Lauren the Houseplant Slayer

I'm not so good with houseplants.

Right now the only ones that look okay are the aloe veras (they can go months without water), and a nice fake flower wall thingie in the dining room.

I used to be a great plant mom, but somewhere along the line my plant maternal instinct dried up, and I've become a plant cautionary tale.

When a friend moved to California, she gave me a very nice palmy type plant with three Dr. Suess type trunks of differing lengths, and poufy frond things at top of each stem. It has not done well on the water every few months aloe vera plan. The palms are looking really sad, and one of the stalks has no palm thing at the end, giving it a "Help my palm has been amputated!" kind of look.

I'm in the process of defragging my living room, and decided that a pathetic looking Dr. Suess palm just didn't fit in with my decor.

As I was carrying it outside to put on the back porch, I was thinking that really it was an okay plant, and maybe if I trimmed the amputated palm stalk it would grow a new palm. And that maybe it would be happier outside, where it would, like, get water and stuff. I pictured it all full and healthy.

And then it happened.

THWACKKKK!!!

As I was carrying the palm through the kitchen to get it to the back porch the ceiling fan got it. The tallest palm stalk was suddenly palm-free. It had been cleanly cut off by the blades of the ceiling fan and was resting on the floor on the other side of the kitchen. I had decapitated my palm.

Even the aloe veras are looking at me funny now, and the poor plant is on the back porch with two amputated stumps.

Ummmm, anyone want to adopt a special needs plant?

9:46 p.m. - July 10, 2004

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

porktornado
trancejen
twobaddogs
marn
hissandtell
idiot-milk
poolagirl
ann-frank
dangerspouse
purplecigar
lobsterchick
bluemeany
twelvebeer
juddhole
rickscafe
smartypants
crazy4muffin
bigpimpinmba
hooterville
mousemilk
essaywriter
hydrogeek
hollyfae
biodtl
pinkrevolver
catspajamas
reynedecoupe
yeahimadork
hairburner
haloaskew
toastcrumbs
geeked-out
gripewater
tattoobelly
dinahsoar
gumphood
nicim
batten
acaldwell
bonkrood
wickedcrazy
janetplnetoc
porchlife
not-a-finger
scotvalkyrie
danglemyfeet
reader1209
acecoolg
cunhell
katiedoyle