sunshine0221's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Well At Least I'm Wearing Pants

Well At Least I'm Wearing Pants

This week has been a bit crazy.

I've been the only one in the office since Tuesday.

Wednesday night I stayed up too late, then had a horrible case of the digestive disturbances and hardly got any sleep.

But I can't believe that I FORGOT TO WEAR A BRA TODAY.

The good news is I am alone in the office. The only humans I have likelihood of seeing before I go home at lunch and reconfine the girls are the UPS and FedEx guys, and hey I might score some free supplies or something.

*******

In not related to my boobs work news - our voice mail system has been taken over by a recording of Phillipino lady who calls out (to the Phillipines natch) every 2 minutes. We don't know what she's saying because she is speaking in Phillipino (is that a language?). She could be either asking her fellow Phillipinos if they are happy with their long distance carrier, or soliciting phone sex. We will probably never know.

The good news is she's not getting through (hello $50,000 phone bill). The bad news is that the phone people have never seen anything like this, and don't know how to make her stop.

*******

My best buddy at work is pretty cool. She has one heinous flaw - she's a Republican - but she makes up for it by rescuing abused and neglected dogs, and being an exceptionally kind person.

And she has proven this week that indeed no good deed goes unpunished.

She was talking with a friend of hers, and he mentioned that there is a woman in town who has cancer, needs to go to the Mayo clinic, and can't drive herself because she is in too much pain. And that she has no one to take her, so she is cancelling her appointment.

My coworker was horrified that none of this woman's friends was offering to drive her.

We both pictured a sad, sweet lady, maybe wearing a scarf, who would be incredibly grateful if a total stranger offered to take 3 days off from work, and drive the 6 hours each way to Mayo.

My friend, who really is an angel, offered to take her.

And let me repeat, she is taking THREE DAYS OFF WORK AND DRIVING 12+ HOURS.

Now if someone were doing this for me, I would be incredibly grateful. I would bend over backwards to work around their schedule. I would bake them cookies, I would paint their house.

This woman? Not so much. First she cancelled and uncancelled 12 times. Then she asked my friend if she would mind if they had to turn around and drive back right away if she decided to not let the doctors perform tests. Then she asked if my friend would mind paying for her own hotel room because she needs her alone time.

I am very sorry this woman has cancer. I wouldn't want it to happen to anyone. And it turns out that the reason she didn't have anyone to take her to the Mayo Clinic is that even before she got sick she had driven her friends batshit crazy with her indecisiveness and self-involvement, and no one could handle even the thought of spending 3 days with her.

I am very glad that there are good people in this world, that go the extra mile to help someone who needs it.

I am also still amazed that there are people who who are so wrapped up in themselves that they can't show appreciation when someone does something incredibly wonderful for them.

I also told my friend that she needs to start an online journal, because you just know the retelling of this trip would be a spectacular entry.

12:02 p.m. - November 12, 2004

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

porktornado
trancejen
twobaddogs
marn
hissandtell
idiot-milk
poolagirl
ann-frank
dangerspouse
purplecigar
lobsterchick
bluemeany
twelvebeer
juddhole
rickscafe
smartypants
crazy4muffin
bigpimpinmba
hooterville
mousemilk
essaywriter
hydrogeek
hollyfae
biodtl
pinkrevolver
catspajamas
reynedecoupe
yeahimadork
hairburner
haloaskew
toastcrumbs
geeked-out
gripewater
tattoobelly
dinahsoar
gumphood
nicim
batten
acaldwell
bonkrood
wickedcrazy
janetplnetoc
porchlife
not-a-finger
scotvalkyrie
danglemyfeet
reader1209
acecoolg
cunhell
katiedoyle