sunshine0221's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Not June Cleaver

So Not June Cleaver

I had two friends over a girl�s night last Sunday night.

Here is how I planned for things to go:

Jodi and Terry would show up between 3 and 4 p.m. My house would be immaculate, and warm, and I would be wearing some kind June Cleaver type dress and maybe some pearls. Right at 5:00, I would casually pull three or four gourmet dishes out of the oven, and assure everyone that really it was no trouble at all, and that they are good friends and more than worth the six hours I spent preparing food for them. Spike and Teeny would be quiet and well-behaved, and maybe wearing adorable little matching cat sweaters that I had knitted in my free time. I would then whip up some complicated rum drinks - using a recipe of course and we�d watch Project Runway and The Sweetest Thing. Upon completion of our lovely evening, Terry and Jodi would depart, using my well-lighted and perfectly shoveled walkway.

Okay, here is how things actually went:

I spent most of Saturday working on cleaning and organizing my office. I bagged up lots of books, and moved some boxes to the laundry room. Oh and speaking of the laundry room, I discovered, after putting a whole bunch of clothes and sheets into the washer that it was not draining so well. As in sopping wet, dripping clothes that I optimistically threw into the dryer, which also promptly broke. I also noticed that there appeared to be something wrong with my heat. It would have been easier to tell if I hadn�t somehow changed my thermostat to centigrade when I was trying to program it. Which might not be a bad thing, because I suspect that if knew what temperature �12� actually is I probably would have been even colder.

I then optimistically scheduled the cleaning and organizing of living room, dining room, kitchen and bathroom for Sunday. Also the buying and preparing of food and mixers for drinks, and went to bed.

On Sunday, I did everything I could, including postponing Terry and Jodi�s arrival to 5:00 when realized there no way I would have everything done by 3:00. By 4:30 had faced fact that would never get everything done. Jumped in shower. No time to wash hair. Gah! Threw on clothes, and got call from Jodi that she was on her way over because could not stay long and she wanted to get my gorgeous new USB 2 card installed for me. Got Jodi settled at computer, and left for store to get food and mixers. Or tried to leave for store, whole driveway was ice and discovered car would only go backwards. Finally figured out if car was in gear but I didn�t give her gas she could go forward and headed off to store. Got chicken and salad and Mango Lime Fiesta juice and rushed back home.

Terry had arrived and she and Jodi entertained themselves on computer (with shiny new USB 2 card) while I got dinner in oven. Informed T & J that we were just going to pretend that my kitchen counters, as well as dining room were neat and organized. And also pretend that Teeny had not killed toilet paper all over bathroom, and that house was not freezing.

I handed Terry carton of Mango Lime Fiesta and boss�s cruise rum and let her make drinks. Then we all sat down and watched an episode of Project Runway. Then Jodi has to leave and Terry and I ate (kicking bad cats off table a whole bunch of times) and watched The Sweetest Thing.

After Terry left, using icy and dark path to car, I happened to glance in mirror and screamed when I saw that my hair looked like this:



Holy Crap!


I am thinking that maybe calm, serene, prepared dinner parties are just not my thing, and perhaps in my next life I will wear pearls, and have clean house, and not have hair that looks like I was caught in a severe wind storm.

I can only hope.

12:03 a.m. - February 24, 2006

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

porktornado
trancejen
twobaddogs
marn
hissandtell
idiot-milk
poolagirl
ann-frank
dangerspouse
purplecigar
lobsterchick
bluemeany
twelvebeer
juddhole
rickscafe
smartypants
crazy4muffin
bigpimpinmba
hooterville
mousemilk
essaywriter
hydrogeek
hollyfae
biodtl
pinkrevolver
catspajamas
reynedecoupe
yeahimadork
hairburner
haloaskew
toastcrumbs
geeked-out
gripewater
tattoobelly
dinahsoar
gumphood
nicim
batten
acaldwell
bonkrood
wickedcrazy
janetplnetoc
porchlife
not-a-finger
scotvalkyrie
danglemyfeet
reader1209
acecoolg
cunhell
katiedoyle