sunshine0221's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Not a Guest Entry!

NOT a Guest Entry

Just a quick entry so that I can squeeze one in between two more that Kelly has emailed me. If she keeps this up I'm getting her a Diaryland account!

I just read in Kismet's. journal that she needs a visit from Queer Eye For the Straight Garden (TV show reference Kelly), and I snarfed up a lung. Oh man, so do I. I apparently also some help from Queer Eye For the Really Old House That Has Stuff That Falls Apart When You Look At It.

On the good news front, the guy who fixes stuff, aka Rich, and has spent the past three days at my house replacing/repairing just about everything is doing a trade - woohoo!! The thing with owning an ancient house maintained by previous owners who deserve to be tied to one of their bad repairs and flogged by Bob Vila, is that stuff happens. Rich fixed the rusted out pipes feeding my boiler and water heater. Then he must have looked at another pipe funny, so it decided to blow. Then he noticed, while turning my water on and off approximately 4,000 times that the water meter has the wrong kind of pipe going into it, and it's leaking. Then he noticed, while going up and down the cellar stairs approximately 3,300 times that another step has bitten the dust.

Rich also noticed the blatant lack of a shower hot water faucet, and offered to fix that too. My hot water faucet has been not there for around six months now. The last time my faucets croaked, I went to Wal Mart, bought cheap acrylic replacement faucets, and replaced them myself. Clearly the technology has changed in the past few years. I bought four, count em four, different sets of replacement faucets that did not fit. Not wanting to admit defeat, I just pretended that I liked turning my hot water faucet on with a wrench. I felt a little better when it took Rich two trips to the hardware store and the ends of the faucets had to be cut off to make them fit. I now have working hot AND cold faucets.

I also bought a replacement shower thingie, which I also easily installed a few years ago, and this time, probably because I did such an excellent install, would not come off. Rich also fixed this, not easily either, and noticed that my bathtub spigot is wiggly which apparently means the previous owners attached it with the wrong kind of pipe, and when it goes will require cutting out a huge piece of wall to get to it. Until then I can live with wiggly. And I think I should go buy some lottery tickets.

Other news - broke up with the dude a few weeks ago. When I sort out what exactly I'm feeling will write a heartfelt entry. Right now, to quote Dana from Big Brother (another TV show Kelly), I'm feeling PISSSED AWWWWFFF.

Also, I think I have another cat. Pictures and story to follow. I checked with Tahmi and she says I'm not a crazy cat lady yet.

Next entry by Kelly!

11:52 p.m. - October 12, 2003

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

porktornado
trancejen
twobaddogs
marn
hissandtell
idiot-milk
poolagirl
ann-frank
dangerspouse
purplecigar
lobsterchick
bluemeany
twelvebeer
juddhole
rickscafe
smartypants
crazy4muffin
bigpimpinmba
hooterville
mousemilk
essaywriter
hydrogeek
hollyfae
biodtl
pinkrevolver
catspajamas
reynedecoupe
yeahimadork
hairburner
haloaskew
toastcrumbs
geeked-out
gripewater
tattoobelly
dinahsoar
gumphood
nicim
batten
acaldwell
bonkrood
wickedcrazy
janetplnetoc
porchlife
not-a-finger
scotvalkyrie
danglemyfeet
reader1209
acecoolg
cunhell
katiedoyle