sunshine0221's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Kwanzaa Cakes and Life-Switches

Kwanzaa Cakes and Life-Switches

Conversation with Mom this morning after the power went out and I was checking to be sure my TiVo was okay:

Me: "Look! It's the Sandra Lee holiday show. The Hanukkah Cake!!! The pearls look even tackier than I remembered!

Mom: "Why did she make a Hanukkah cake? Nobody makes Hanukkah cakes, now some nice potato latkes, that's another thing. And is she the one who is really a man?"

Me: "No Mom, that's Brini Maxwell."

Mom: "Oh, I was just wondering."

Mom: "You don't think black people will think you are making fun of Kwanzaa in your journal do you?"

Me: "No Mom, I am sure those who celebrate Kwanzaa understand that I was making fun of Sandra Lee and the Kwanzaa Cake of Doom, not Kwanzaa."

&&&

If there's anyone out there who would like to switch lives temporarily, I'm in. If there's anyone out there who wants to switch lives and who lives in a tropical climate on the beach, I am so in.

I'll spend the winter sunning myself on the beach and swimming in the ocean, and Switch-Person can deal with the Ringworm-arama going on in my house, clean the kitchen, perform an archaeological excavation to see if there is actually a floor in the laundry room, and move the box spring that I took off my bed six months ago and left leaning against the radiator moved down to the garage.

Anyone? Bueller?

11:20 p.m. - December 12, 2004

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

porktornado
trancejen
twobaddogs
marn
hissandtell
idiot-milk
poolagirl
ann-frank
dangerspouse
purplecigar
lobsterchick
bluemeany
twelvebeer
juddhole
rickscafe
smartypants
crazy4muffin
bigpimpinmba
hooterville
mousemilk
essaywriter
hydrogeek
hollyfae
biodtl
pinkrevolver
catspajamas
reynedecoupe
yeahimadork
hairburner
haloaskew
toastcrumbs
geeked-out
gripewater
tattoobelly
dinahsoar
gumphood
nicim
batten
acaldwell
bonkrood
wickedcrazy
janetplnetoc
porchlife
not-a-finger
scotvalkyrie
danglemyfeet
reader1209
acecoolg
cunhell
katiedoyle