sunshine0221's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Irreplaceable

Irreplaceable

When something like Hurricane Katrina happens, you start to think about what is important to you. Family and friends, my house and my car give me somewhere to live and transportation - and then there are all of my modern conveniences - I'd hate to lose my computer, or my TiVo.

I don't even pretend to understand what the victims of Katrina are going through, but I do know making sure that my family was safe would absolutely include my furpeople. Houses can be rebuilt. Computers can be replaced. TiVo's are cheap these days. Spike and Buffy and Teeny and Wesley are irreplaceable. The thought of them being abandoned and scared and hungry or hurt breaks my heart.



A small dog is leashed by a rescuer in New Orleans on Wednesday, Sept. 7, 2005.


There is a lot I don't understand about the the rescue response to Hurricane Katrina - but what I really, really don't understand is why rescuers are not being allowed to rescue pets along with their humans.

I keep seeing pictures of half empty boats rescuing people. Let them take their pets too! It seems that many of the people who are still in New Orleans are there because they refuse to leave their animals. Here's an idea - let them take their animals with them for pete's sake.



Small survivor : US Airforce Lt. Nathan Brosheal holds a kitten rescued and airlifted to New Orleans International Airport in the aftermath of Hurricane Katrina


There have been some wonderful pet stories that have come out of all of this. Snowball has probably been found. There's a woman who had to leave her four dogs so that her husband could get medical attention that he needed, and she has been reunited with at least one of her pups.

Here are some of the rescue organizations that are working to save the animals that have been displaced by Katrina. If you have a few extra bucks, now is a good time to help out these wonderful organizations:

North Shore Animal League

Noah's Wish

Best Friends

Houston SPCA

The Humane Society

ASPCA

12:41 a.m. - September 08, 2005

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

porktornado
trancejen
twobaddogs
marn
hissandtell
idiot-milk
poolagirl
ann-frank
dangerspouse
purplecigar
lobsterchick
bluemeany
twelvebeer
juddhole
rickscafe
smartypants
crazy4muffin
bigpimpinmba
hooterville
mousemilk
essaywriter
hydrogeek
hollyfae
biodtl
pinkrevolver
catspajamas
reynedecoupe
yeahimadork
hairburner
haloaskew
toastcrumbs
geeked-out
gripewater
tattoobelly
dinahsoar
gumphood
nicim
batten
acaldwell
bonkrood
wickedcrazy
janetplnetoc
porchlife
not-a-finger
scotvalkyrie
danglemyfeet
reader1209
acecoolg
cunhell
katiedoyle