sunshine0221's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Humpy Humpy

Humpy Humpy

Last Saturday Kelly and I and our respective moms went on a pilgramage to Cedar Rapids and Iowa City to eat and shop. And I have to say, damn we're good. I also have to say, I love my car. She fit four people along with a whole bunch of shopping bags and stuff very comfortably.

Our first stop was for sushi, and we got one of the private rooms. Which was probably a very good thing as we spent our whole lunch giggling and sticking our heads under our armpits. Kelly's mom has two cockatiels that she adores and talks about incessantly. And she made the mistake of telling us that her birdies show affection by sticking their heads under their wings. Kelly does not love her bird siblings, probably because she is jealous that they are her mom's favorite children. Anyway, we of course spent most of our lunch with our heads under our arms, because darnit, we like each other. And as if that wasn't funny enough, Kelly's mom kept correcting our form.

Other highlights of the day:

A Cedar Rapids bank is having a Vibe contest, and we saw the painted Vibe! We followed it for a few blocks while I had vibegasms and now I totally want to pimp my Vibe. Hello dilettante project #8!



Pretty Vibe!!


We went to TJ Maxx, and upon arrival the Mom and I headed to the final sale racks. The first pair of pants I picked up were marked $0.70. That's right - SEVENTY CENTS!! I kept squinting at the tag to be sure I was reading it right, and I was. And the racks were full of very cool clothes, and most of them were $3.00 or less. I, errrr, got 44 items at an average cost of $1.62 each, and that even included the $7.00 sweater I totally splurged on. And in case you are thinking that dilettante project #9 will be building enormous closets, most of my haul will be resold on eBay. But I am, of course, keeping the garish floral capris for myself. Because you can never be too rich or too garish.

Peppermint (my car) did her first illegal U'ey. Then her second and third as well. I drive like a grandmother. Kelly drives like a professional race car driver on stimulants. When it was determined that we were going to try and find a restaurant in Mt. Vernon, and that none of us really knew where Mt. Vernon was, Kelly offered to drive. Which meant that we got lost quicker, decided that we really didn't have a clue where Mt. Vernon was quicker, accidentally drove through the entire city of Cedar Rapids instead of towards Iowa City quicker, and yes made a quite spiffy illegal U'ey when we realized we had made our first wrong turn. Illegal U'ey #2 occurred when we miraculously spotted an actual parking place in Iowa City. And Illegal U'ey #3 happened upon leaving said parking place, which saved us about six blocks of driving around.

Have I mentioned how much Kelly's mom loves her birds? She thinks every single thing they do is adorable, imitates all of the sounds they make, and I truly believe she can understand and speak bird. She was telling us about some of the things her birds do, and what she has named them. There's "crunchy crunchy" which is a thing they do with their beaks. There's "tappy tappy" which is another beaky thing. Kelly chimed in that there is also "screechy screechy" and "bitey bitey". And then there is the thing that Pontoof does when he sees himself in the mirror. And it is called "humpy humpy". I will leave what that means to your imagination.

Some pictures of the doggie who nursed the tiger cubs with her "babies":







And finally, for the way too cute files - a volunteer playing with a Shi Tzu puppy that was rescued in New Orleans:




11:26 p.m. - September 14, 2005

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

porktornado
trancejen
twobaddogs
marn
hissandtell
idiot-milk
poolagirl
ann-frank
dangerspouse
purplecigar
lobsterchick
bluemeany
twelvebeer
juddhole
rickscafe
smartypants
crazy4muffin
bigpimpinmba
hooterville
mousemilk
essaywriter
hydrogeek
hollyfae
biodtl
pinkrevolver
catspajamas
reynedecoupe
yeahimadork
hairburner
haloaskew
toastcrumbs
geeked-out
gripewater
tattoobelly
dinahsoar
gumphood
nicim
batten
acaldwell
bonkrood
wickedcrazy
janetplnetoc
porchlife
not-a-finger
scotvalkyrie
danglemyfeet
reader1209
acecoolg
cunhell
katiedoyle