sunshine0221's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Oh My God - You Killed Humpy. You Bastard!

You Killed Humpy. You Bastard!


Before I started working at my current place of employment, the office was in a different building. The building was not well made, and there were a ton of mice running around in the office.

A few of the mice were unique enough that they got names. Humpy was one of them. He had kind of a well, humpy back. My future co workers became rather fond of Humpy, so they were quite distressed when the boss announced that Humpy wouldn't be coming around any more.

They're like me - they would prefer to think of Humpy sipping a Pina Colada on a tropical island rather than that the boss squished him. Sometimes ignorance is better.

Flash forward to this week - we now work in the boss's house. I haven't seen any mice since I started working there.

Until this week.

Other Boss comes and asks for my help. There is a cute black mouse in the Boss's kitchen sink and he can't get out. Other Boss suggests that maybe we could just feed him until the Boss gets back and he can deal with him.

I vetoed that idea - after all the boss executed Humpy. I grabbed a disposable coffee cup, and performed the video game-like stunt of getting the cup on top of the mouse. After about 10 tries I got him, and with the addition of some cardboard and a spatula, I was able to get him outside.

This one's for you, Humpy.

&&&

We have a customer who is on the wrong side of the 80/20 rule. Small customer, lots of work. They didn't pay their bills, so now they have to prepay orders, which you would think would be no big thang, but it messes up all of our systems, and like, makes lots of extra work for me. We normally drop ship our furniture to their customers for them, but there is a particular product that we bulk-ship directly to their location. This customer is extremely picky about their shipping methods, and they have some kind of complicated quadratic equation that determines how each order should be shipped. And then instead of just saying what the shipping method is on their orders, they have a code system which necessitates a decoder ring and a compass to figure out.

The bulk order of chairs is codeless. Shipping emergency! So I give them a call, and the next day I get a call back from their warehouse manager. He tells us to ship the chairs via a common carrier which is not among the 4 or 5 we regularly use. I tell him that I need to check with our shipping department to make sure this will work, and I will get back with him. I also asked him for a phone number for Common Carrier We Do Not Use. In a foreshadowing moment that I did not know was a foreshadowing moment, he refused to give me the number.

I checked with the warehouse, and as I suspected, setting up a new shipping company tends to be a project. And our warehouse is busy right now shipping stuff, including orders for 80/20 company. Our warehouse manager suggested that perhaps 80/20 company could do the paperwork on their end, and we'll have the chairs ready for Common Carrier We Do Not Use to pick up.

Sounded reasonable to me, and I left 80/20 company's warehouse dude a voicemail suggesting this.

When I got into work I had a big, long voicemail hate-o-gram from this guy. He was rude, and a bully. He ordered me to do the shipment ourselves, threatened to cancel the order, mentioned that he is the customer dammit about 12 times, threatened some more, and then hung up.

Now if I owned the company, I would have called him back and asked him for confirmation of the order cancellation, which would guaran-damn-tee 12 calls from the mail order division of 80/20 Corp begging us not to cancel the order, and telling us we can ship via elephant if we want, as long as they get their chairs because they need them.

But I don't. Before Other Boss made it into the office so I could discuss the Shipping Crisis with her, Angry Warehouse Manager called back, threatened me some more, refused to give me their account number so we could possibly 3rd Party bill the shipment to them, demanded to know what we were going to do, and when I told him I would have to get back to him, yelled some more.

When Other Boss arrived at the office, I filled her in on the situation, and she decided we would just ship the way we want, and that the odds are that the accounting people who pay the shipping bills won't know that Angry Warehouse Dude didn't want them shipped that way.

I'm keeping my fingers crossed.

1:22 a.m. - December 16, 2004

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

porktornado
trancejen
twobaddogs
marn
hissandtell
idiot-milk
poolagirl
ann-frank
dangerspouse
purplecigar
lobsterchick
bluemeany
twelvebeer
juddhole
rickscafe
smartypants
crazy4muffin
bigpimpinmba
hooterville
mousemilk
essaywriter
hydrogeek
hollyfae
biodtl
pinkrevolver
catspajamas
reynedecoupe
yeahimadork
hairburner
haloaskew
toastcrumbs
geeked-out
gripewater
tattoobelly
dinahsoar
gumphood
nicim
batten
acaldwell
bonkrood
wickedcrazy
janetplnetoc
porchlife
not-a-finger
scotvalkyrie
danglemyfeet
reader1209
acecoolg
cunhell
katiedoyle