sunshine0221's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

How To Be a Dilettante

How to Be a Dilettante

First of all, you have to start a lot of projects that you never finish. Take the cream, rose, and peach acrylic afghan I started knitting, oh, 20 years ago. I still have the sections that I finished in a closet in the laundry room. Because I am apparently hoping that the afghan fairies with drop by and complete it for me.

Also, somewhere in my house is a big honking hunk of paraffin. This is from five or six years ago when Kelly and I decided we wanted to make candles. We bought all the wax and wicks and molds, and as of today, have made exactly zero candles. I am also concerned that I was able to lose a 10 pound hunk o' wax. Note to self: Might want to clean house.

The next major phase was jewelry making. I learned that beads are more addictive than crack, that no matter how many beads and tools and supplies you have, you totally need more, and at this point, I should probably just build an extra wing on my house and open a bead store. Which I would do except for the fact that I cannot part with my beads because they are my precioussss. And for the record, I do actually sell my jewelry at a store here in town.

These days I am all about making the beauty products. I buy Virgin Organic Coconut Oil by the gallon. I want to make soap so bad I can taste it. I have all of the ingredients I need to make bath bombs, and lip balm, and I want to make massage bars and body butter. I had a real live soapgasm last night when I found a recipe for pina colada soap � that has gold SPARKLES in it!

And I keep telling myself that this time I will finish one thing before I start another. And that I don�t need every single essential oil known to man, and that I should maybe make some bath bombs before I go off on a lip balm tangent.

And you know what? Even though I know that the odds are I will get distracted by something shiny before I actually finish all of these things I have started, I am having fun, and PINA COLADA SOAP WITH SPARKLES. I rest my case.

11:10 p.m. - June 16, 2005

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

porktornado
trancejen
twobaddogs
marn
hissandtell
idiot-milk
poolagirl
ann-frank
dangerspouse
purplecigar
lobsterchick
bluemeany
twelvebeer
juddhole
rickscafe
smartypants
crazy4muffin
bigpimpinmba
hooterville
mousemilk
essaywriter
hydrogeek
hollyfae
biodtl
pinkrevolver
catspajamas
reynedecoupe
yeahimadork
hairburner
haloaskew
toastcrumbs
geeked-out
gripewater
tattoobelly
dinahsoar
gumphood
nicim
batten
acaldwell
bonkrood
wickedcrazy
janetplnetoc
porchlife
not-a-finger
scotvalkyrie
danglemyfeet
reader1209
acecoolg
cunhell
katiedoyle