sunshine0221's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

I Am So Going To Hell

I Am So Going to Hell

So lately, I�ve been waiting til Mom gets her morphine shots, so that we can have amusing conversations such as the following:



Mom: � You should turn on the floor lamp.�

Me: �Ummm, what floor lamp?� [There is no floor lamp in her room}

Mom: �You know, the one I got at the auction, to go with that chair [That chair being the recliner in the hospital room].

Mom: �Are you going to put that in your journal?�



The best I can tell she�s not deliberately coming up with these gems just so that she can be featured in my journal.

Mom: �The whiteboard keeps moving.�

Me: �What whiteboard?�

Mom: �The one on that wall.�

[There is no white board on the wall she�s looking at}

Me: �What does the whiteboard say?�

Mom: �Flapjacks!�



And one more:

Mom: �I want some water.�

Me: �Okay, hold on a sec, I�ll get you some.�

Mom: �You can�t, the Roof People won�t let me have any.�



Today is Day 5 of Mom in hospital, and I am taking the morning off. The Good Nurse is on duty, and I can�t believe how good it feels to be home, and do laundry, watch an episode of Angel, get the dishwasher loaded, etc. I will never take my free time for granted again.

Yesterday mom and I got in the first argument since the Ribs vs. Bathtub incident, and I�m sure I should have been more of a pinnacle of patience and understanding, but when she complained that I had not made a phone call for her, and it had been three days since she asked, and what was wrong with me, I just blew up.

I have been at the hospital all day and night, except when I am running errands for her at lunchtime. I�m exhausted, I spend all day doing things for her, I�ve been getting up early every morning, which is enough to make my non morning-person ass cranky, and not getting home until it is too late to make phone calls. I�m checking her email and phone messages. Returning phone calls and emails. Sending out her newsletter. Squeaking in just barely enough time for my own business. Having her complain was the last straw.

I�m going to try and get more sleep, and take more time for myself while I can, so that I�m not the Cranky Caregiver From Below Hell when mom comes home.

12:38 p.m. - December 14, 2003

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

porktornado
trancejen
twobaddogs
marn
hissandtell
idiot-milk
poolagirl
ann-frank
dangerspouse
purplecigar
lobsterchick
bluemeany
twelvebeer
juddhole
rickscafe
smartypants
crazy4muffin
bigpimpinmba
hooterville
mousemilk
essaywriter
hydrogeek
hollyfae
biodtl
pinkrevolver
catspajamas
reynedecoupe
yeahimadork
hairburner
haloaskew
toastcrumbs
geeked-out
gripewater
tattoobelly
dinahsoar
gumphood
nicim
batten
acaldwell
bonkrood
wickedcrazy
janetplnetoc
porchlife
not-a-finger
scotvalkyrie
danglemyfeet
reader1209
acecoolg
cunhell
katiedoyle