sunshine0221's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

The Garbage Disposal Entry

The Garbage Disposal Entry

I�m crabby today. And yes I know. I�m going to have to do 12 entries a day for the next two years to make up for my major journal slackage.

My garbage disposal has been not working for months now. Which is gross, and way worse than not having one at all.

Also the circuit for my laundry room keeps tripping, so I finally just shut it off to avoid any potential electrical nastiness.

The guy who normally handles my electrical stuff has been acting kinda weird � plus he�s the one who did the electrical work that is failing, so I had the brilliant idea to Try Someone New.

I do have a working garbage disposal now, but it cost a lot more than it should have, and who knows what�s going on with the laundry room electricity.

Recap of electrician�s visit.

Me: Hi! Please fix my garbage disposal!

New Electrician: Sure! Let�s see what we�ve got going on here!

NE: Oh, this isn�t good�

Me: What???!!!

NE: Well I can�t tell where the wires go, and there�s a red one missing, and the box doesn�t have a cover, and whoever installed this made it really difficult to work on.

Me: (Hopefully) But you can fix it right?

NE: (Following two hours of screwing and unscrewing things, going to store to get parts, multiple turnings on and off of circuit) It�s fixed! It�s on!

Me: Ummm, how do I turn it OFF? The switch isn�t working�

NE: There�s a SWITCH???!!!!

Me: (To myself) $%#@*&^

Me: (To NE) Yes, otherwise how would I turn it on and off?

NE: (Looking at garbage disposal) I thought it was one of those�

Me (To myself) One of those what? Psychic switches??? Like where I think really hard and the garbage disposal turns on????

NE: I guess I�m working for free now�

NE: (30 minutes later) Umm, damn, the problem was with the switch!

Me (To myself) $%#@^&

So I just paid you for over two hours of not fixing the problem.

Well at least it�s not as bad as paying those guys $100 to not install my dining room light� also no way I�m going to have you troubleshoot my laundry room circuit problem� who needs lights in the laundry room anyway??

NE: It�s done. I couldn�t get the switch plate back on right, and the switch is kinda recessed, but it should work okay.

Me: (To myself) Arrrgghh! But cool � I have a garbage disposal � and it even turns on AND off! So what if the switch cover looks like my cats installed it, it works!

NE: I�m kinda wiped out, do you mind if I look at the circuit problem another time?

Me: No problem, I�ll call you!

Me: (To myself) When hell is so cold that if you spill your coffee and it instantly turns into a frozen mocha latte with extra sprinkles.

Me: How much do I owe you?

NE: Way more than you should have had to pay to fix the switch! (He didn�t really say that, they never say that).

On top of all of that, it�s 5 pm and I haven�t eaten anything yet, plus I had to get up early*, so I should probably shun human contact until I eat something, and maybe watch something calming on my TiVo.

* Any time before 10:00 am

5:18 p.m. - August 14, 2003

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

porktornado
trancejen
twobaddogs
marn
hissandtell
idiot-milk
poolagirl
ann-frank
dangerspouse
purplecigar
lobsterchick
bluemeany
twelvebeer
juddhole
rickscafe
smartypants
crazy4muffin
bigpimpinmba
hooterville
mousemilk
essaywriter
hydrogeek
hollyfae
biodtl
pinkrevolver
catspajamas
reynedecoupe
yeahimadork
hairburner
haloaskew
toastcrumbs
geeked-out
gripewater
tattoobelly
dinahsoar
gumphood
nicim
batten
acaldwell
bonkrood
wickedcrazy
janetplnetoc
porchlife
not-a-finger
scotvalkyrie
danglemyfeet
reader1209
acecoolg
cunhell
katiedoyle