sunshine0221's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Gah!

Gah! I missed a day!

But I have enough to whine about in this entry, that it more than makes up for it.

I feel like Ranty McWhiney's older, crabbier, premenstrual sister today.

First of all, I stayed up late and got up early. Don't try this at home kids. I feel like crap. I had to prepare ship 5 books, shower and get dressed, eat breakfast, pick up Spike at the vet, drop off books at the PO, and be in Coralville for the book sale by noonish.

I shipped the books, took shower but did not wash droopy hair. Nada on the breakfast. Extra points because I could not find my purse. Bonus points for doing a quick and dirty shovelling job on the front sidewalk. Finally found purse, got Spikey. Had a raging case of the guilties because I was dropping him home, then leaving. Finally got on the road. And oh yeah it snowed last night too. So add 5 minutes for de-snowing car.

Arrived at the book sale, and woohoo was the second person there. Usually am at middle or end of humoungous line. Stood there for for about an hour and a half, then doors opened. It was like a stampede. The poor lady opening the door practically got knocked over. She should know better than to stand between booksellers and their prospective books.

And after all that, the sale was not so good. Lots of fiction, not so much non-fiction. I got around 20 books and was back in the car by 2:00ish. And starving. And crabby.

Went to Barnes and Noble to check the sale books because a guy on the Amazon message board said that he got a bunch of quilting books for a buck. Not at the Coralville Barnes & Noble he didn't. Their sale books are in the $9.98ish range, which as far as I am concerned should not legally be called bargain prices. They should be honest and call them, "Slightly Less Overpriced Than the Rest of Our Books".

At this point I am in a low blood sugar coma. I wander over to the kitchen store and almost buy two more microplanes. I come to my senses and realize, yes, there are other sizes, and one that makes food ribbons, but I haven't ever had to do anything that my microplane can't do. And how often do I really need to make food ribbons?

Then I decide to go to Panera for lunch. I take two steps, and all of a sudden the other side of the mall seems 100 miles away. Much too far to walk to. So then I wander into Payless. I find some ugly, pleather shoes that don't fit, and almost buy them because I have had a crappy day, and my blood sugar is subterranean. I somehow regain my senses and put down the ugly shoes.

I head back to the car, and stop at the Coralville Goodwill. They have a few good books, and I also get a semi-cute Liz Caliboirne purse I don't need. because I didn't get the microplanes or the fugly shoes and dammit I am getting the purse. Good news is that it's only a $1.38.

Then I go to the co-op. They have good food there. Except by the time I fill my cart with half price chicken stock and tuna, I have passed over into the place that I go to when I have not eaten anything and am sleep deprived. Not my happy place.

On to the next Goodwill, where I did find some good books, and a really cute purse, also $1.38.

I considered stopping at the sushi place on the way home, but decided to keep my crankiness to myself, plus I can make a mega spicy tuna roll tomorrow with the tuna I bought.

I arrive home. Spike is peeing!! Buffy doesn't recognize him and hisses whenever he comes near her. Morris slept over last night, but is thankfully not here tonight, because I can't even imagine adding testosterone-based whacking to the cat mix.

I'm going to go make some hot milk, watch House Rules, and hopefully get to sleep semi-early.

See ya tomorrow.

9:50 p.m. - December 05, 2003

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

porktornado
trancejen
twobaddogs
marn
hissandtell
idiot-milk
poolagirl
ann-frank
dangerspouse
purplecigar
lobsterchick
bluemeany
twelvebeer
juddhole
rickscafe
smartypants
crazy4muffin
bigpimpinmba
hooterville
mousemilk
essaywriter
hydrogeek
hollyfae
biodtl
pinkrevolver
catspajamas
reynedecoupe
yeahimadork
hairburner
haloaskew
toastcrumbs
geeked-out
gripewater
tattoobelly
dinahsoar
gumphood
nicim
batten
acaldwell
bonkrood
wickedcrazy
janetplnetoc
porchlife
not-a-finger
scotvalkyrie
danglemyfeet
reader1209
acecoolg
cunhell
katiedoyle