sunshine0221's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Fitness Quest

Fitness Quest

My work buddy and I decided last week that since we spend all day sitting on our butts (which aren't getting any smaller incidentally) that we should begin an exercise program.

We discussed our options and realized that since we have the self-discipline of maybe half a person between us, some kind of formal program would be best.

We went to Jazzercise last Monday morning.

Pros:

Kind of fun
Relatively inexpensive with a minimal commitment.

Cons:

Owey knees from kneeling on the world's thinnest exercise mats while doing floor exercises.
The class times are 9 am and 5:30 p.m., and I work from 10 to 7.
Skinny women with perfect bodies who follow the routines perfectly

Next we checked out Ladies Workout Express.

Pros:

No grunting, sweating men lifting twelve times their body weight.
It�s well structured, and appears to give a good all around workout.
It�s pink!

Cons:

In order to get the best price - a $99 registration fee and $29.95 a month YOU HAVE TO MAKE A THREE YEAR COMITTMENT. The hell?? I've never had a job or a relationship last that long, no way am I signing up for three years of anything.

While we were there, the owner was telling us about some girls who had worked out for 2 � hours straight. And that they burned 1100 calories doing it.

In what universe is it fair that working out for 2 � hours burns 1100 calories, when you can easily consume 1100 calories in 2 � minutes??!!

Our third exercise experiment was Curves. When I called Work Buddy at 7:45 to see if she was ready to go, she sleepily said she was still in bed and I should go without her.

It was pretty similar to Ladies Workout Express, but with fewer machines, and a small, fairly claustrophobic windowless workout room.

Pros

$79.00 to join, and $29.99 a month with a year commitment.
Some of my friends go there.
Better stretching routine than Ladies Workout Express.

Cons

Commitment. Again.
Claustrophobia
Seemed a little too easy even on the first visit.

So I am not sure what I am going do, but I am sure that I am going to do something. And I promise to share whatever I do, in detail, so much so , that you will be begging me to write another entry about my cats.

6:22 p.m. - January 22, 2005

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

porktornado
trancejen
twobaddogs
marn
hissandtell
idiot-milk
poolagirl
ann-frank
dangerspouse
purplecigar
lobsterchick
bluemeany
twelvebeer
juddhole
rickscafe
smartypants
crazy4muffin
bigpimpinmba
hooterville
mousemilk
essaywriter
hydrogeek
hollyfae
biodtl
pinkrevolver
catspajamas
reynedecoupe
yeahimadork
hairburner
haloaskew
toastcrumbs
geeked-out
gripewater
tattoobelly
dinahsoar
gumphood
nicim
batten
acaldwell
bonkrood
wickedcrazy
janetplnetoc
porchlife
not-a-finger
scotvalkyrie
danglemyfeet
reader1209
acecoolg
cunhell
katiedoyle