sunshine0221's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

*Expletive Deleted*

*Expletive Deleted*

Today was an *expletive deleted* kinda day. Literally.

When my Tivo modem bit the dust, I noticed that the outlet that my entertainment devices plug into isn't grounded. I got a new power strip to help protect the replacement Tivo modem, and the red "Hello! I'm not grounded!!" light started to bug me.

Called my inexpensive wiring dude, and he said it would be a piece of cake to fix it up. He also said that my sewer was backing up, and there was *expletive deleted* in my garage. He recommended that I get Roto Rooter over here pronto.

This may not sound like serendipity to you, but if he hadn't been in my garage examining the wiring, the *expletive deleted* could have built up until it exploded, or mutated into a giant *expletive deleted* demon or something.

So Roto Rooter dude shows up. Does his Roto Rooter thing for a few hours and unclogs the clog. I am very grateful that I have never had a job that involves literally working with *expletive deleted*. He also announced that my sewer is made from Orangeburg Pipe. This is not a good thing. Someone had a brilliant idea to make sewer pipe out bituminous fiber, aka tar paper. Then another someone had the brilliant idea to install it going to my house. It needs to be replaced, but I'm okay for now. I will make sacrifices to the *expletive deleted* Gods and hopefully it will hold together until I can afford to replace it.

And of course it was not easy to ground the outlet. Couldn't get to it from above or below, but thanks to my handy dandy water heat, Rich the electrical dude ran a wire to my radiator, and presto!! I'm grounded. I'm curious as to whether my whole water heating system is now a dangerous electrically charged accident waiting to happen, but hey my power strip has a happy green light now.

5:06 p.m. - October 30, 2002

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

porktornado
trancejen
twobaddogs
marn
hissandtell
idiot-milk
poolagirl
ann-frank
dangerspouse
purplecigar
lobsterchick
bluemeany
twelvebeer
juddhole
rickscafe
smartypants
crazy4muffin
bigpimpinmba
hooterville
mousemilk
essaywriter
hydrogeek
hollyfae
biodtl
pinkrevolver
catspajamas
reynedecoupe
yeahimadork
hairburner
haloaskew
toastcrumbs
geeked-out
gripewater
tattoobelly
dinahsoar
gumphood
nicim
batten
acaldwell
bonkrood
wickedcrazy
janetplnetoc
porchlife
not-a-finger
scotvalkyrie
danglemyfeet
reader1209
acecoolg
cunhell
katiedoyle