sunshine0221's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

My Exciting Life

My Exciting Life

I keep waiting for something thrillingly exciting to happen, so I�ll have cool stuff to write about here. And well, life hasn�t been so big on the thrilling these days.

Here are the contenders so far, in no particular order:

1. Saturday, at the thrift store, the eccentric older lady that likes to hug me, and show me her money, trusted me enough to show me her pens. She wears 300 pens clipped on the edges of all three layers of clothing. And they light up.

Which got me wondering what eccentric things I�ll do when I�m elderly. Will I decide that wearing lightup pens is way cool?

I�d like to be a cool older person when the time comes. One that bakes great cookies and still watches MTV. I will not, as God is my witness, ever have blue or pink hair, watch Murder She Wrote, or bore people with stories about �when I was a kid��

2. I have been selling books on Amazon. I have a gazillion books, and they�re selling! I�ve sold 24 books so far!. It�s fun, and Buffy and Spike are lucky they don�t have isbn numbers, or their furry little butts would be up for sale. (Not really guys, mom wouldn�t sell you, well not unless I could get a really lot of money, which,.if prospective buyers knew about the midnight crazies and foot biting, I couldn�t get.)

I�m also swapping things on Swappington�s. Which is a cool service, but torture for those of us who require immediate gratification. I currently have 7 points, and there�s a book I want that costs 8 points, and it�s driving me totally insane.

Also, in case you were wondering, rare spiritual books sell well on Ebay.

3. I am, with help, kicking my garden�s weedy ass. I hired a guy I work with at the thrift store to help, and the front yard is cleaned up. The �indestructible�roses that died last year are dug up, the remains of my bumper crop of weeds have been chopped and removed, the trees have been trimmed, and I even have the grass that grew around the rose bushes almost all removed. Now I need to start on the side and the back � arrghh!

I discovered that I finally killed my Wal Mart mower. Apparently mowing cast-iron lawn ornaments bends the shaft, who knew? So I�m down to my emergency backup mower, which the repair guy said is older than him, and he was no spring chicken. The motor shoots out white smoke and is really loud, and it has a choke for pete�s sake, but as long as it lasts through the year I�ll be happy.

I have been drooling over roses again. Now that I have space for more, due to the tragic mass casualties in the rugosa gang, I have been checking out the latest in low maintenance, disease resistant roses. The winners are Carefree Sunshine, Carefree Delight, and Baby Love. But I�m being mature and waiting until next year to get them. The plan for this year is to fill in the empty spaces with cleomes and some pretty annuals.

4. I am going to paint my bedroom purple. I have been watching way too many episodes of Trading Spaces, which has given me the courage to break away from my standard pastelly pink/peach/rose palette, and well, go purple. The reason for the purple is that according to Feng Shui, it will bring me great wealth. And let�s face it, I�d let Frank and Hildi co-design a folky orthagonal bedroom in black and white if it would attract the bucks. I�ll post before and after pics when it�s done.

12:37 p.m. - May 01, 2003

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

porktornado
trancejen
twobaddogs
marn
hissandtell
idiot-milk
poolagirl
ann-frank
dangerspouse
purplecigar
lobsterchick
bluemeany
twelvebeer
juddhole
rickscafe
smartypants
crazy4muffin
bigpimpinmba
hooterville
mousemilk
essaywriter
hydrogeek
hollyfae
biodtl
pinkrevolver
catspajamas
reynedecoupe
yeahimadork
hairburner
haloaskew
toastcrumbs
geeked-out
gripewater
tattoobelly
dinahsoar
gumphood
nicim
batten
acaldwell
bonkrood
wickedcrazy
janetplnetoc
porchlife
not-a-finger
scotvalkyrie
danglemyfeet
reader1209
acecoolg
cunhell
katiedoyle