sunshine0221's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Kelly Gave Me Elephant Butts and Made Me Cry

Kelly Gave Me Elephant Butts and Made Me Cry

Kelly also gave me Aunt Flo, which explains at least some of my emotionaltude, but the elephant butts are what sent me completely over the edge.

I think I have may have mentioned that Kelly is moving to Portland. Now although this is a very good thing for Kelly, and her husband and her children, I think it is damn selfish of her to move so far away from me.

Kelly and I met when I was leaving a job working for a technical recruiter, and she was just starting a job there. I think we only overlapped by maybe a week. You know how sometimes you just hit it off with someone right away? That happened with us. This was 14 years ago, and we have been very good friends ever since. When we first met, Kelly's children were tiny, she was still married to her ex, and my car was actually better than hers. I first became very impressed by Kelly, when on a trip to Ottumwa, she effortlessly consumed a whole pan of brownies on the way up.

A lot has changed since then, but what has not changed, is how different we are from each other. Kelly is cultural. She only watches TV if I record something and bring it to her. . She watches movies with subtitles and British people talking and looking pained. I like my movies with lots of car chases and stuff blowing up. Kelly does not appreciate the cinematic genius that is Dude, Where�s My Car? Kelly goes to concerts (on purpose!) where spiritual music is performed. I prefer something more Top 40ish. Kelly is way more neat and orderly than I am, and one time (she blames being delirious) when I went to visit Kelly when she was sick, she spent 15 minutes trying to rearrange a ladybug's wings because they were crooked.

Despite all of our differences, Kelly is the friend that I can talk to about anything, who knows when an emergency sushi run is needed, who is always up for shopping for cheap makeup at Target.

And now she is living 2,000 miles away, and before she left, she stopped by the office and dropped off this book:



And I sat there at my desk, looking at elephant butts and crying. Kelly so owes me a bunch of sushi for this.

8:28 a.m. - April 27, 2006

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

porktornado
trancejen
twobaddogs
marn
hissandtell
idiot-milk
poolagirl
ann-frank
dangerspouse
purplecigar
lobsterchick
bluemeany
twelvebeer
juddhole
rickscafe
smartypants
crazy4muffin
bigpimpinmba
hooterville
mousemilk
essaywriter
hydrogeek
hollyfae
biodtl
pinkrevolver
catspajamas
reynedecoupe
yeahimadork
hairburner
haloaskew
toastcrumbs
geeked-out
gripewater
tattoobelly
dinahsoar
gumphood
nicim
batten
acaldwell
bonkrood
wickedcrazy
janetplnetoc
porchlife
not-a-finger
scotvalkyrie
danglemyfeet
reader1209
acecoolg
cunhell
katiedoyle