sunshine0221's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Paging Dr. Phil!

Paging Dr. Phil!

I had an epiphany when I was watching 24 this week.

If you're not watching 24, you should. It has enough action, adventure, and excitement to, well, be a really exciting show to watch.

Last season, Tony Almeida was the director of the Los Angeles branch of the Counter Terrorism Unit. I barely noticed him. He was married, had an important job, and was fighting to protect the USA from evil terrorists.

This season Tony is a bitter, jobless, divorced, alcoholic ex-con - and when he appeared right in the nick of time to save Keifer and Audrey from a flock o' bad guys trying to kill them, I developed an insta-crush on him.

Now I am aware that we are talking about a fictional character here, but why aren't I attracted to fictional stable accountants with well-rounded stock portfolios and alphabetized socks?

Would it be so terrible if I lusted over a tax attorney, or the CEO of a successful office supply company?

I completed a Yahoo personality test, and one of the things it said was that what I want, and what I think I want are two different things. And I think it's probably true.

While the bad boys do seem to grab my attention, I also desire things like stability and lack of drug and alcohol issues.

And I'm not sure what the solution is - do I need to find someone like Arnold Schwartzenegger in True Lies who can be both a spy and a boring businessperson? Do I need to date an irresponsible alcoholic or two just to get it out of my system?

Maybe I need to take more Yahoo personality tests. Maybe I need to watch different TV shows. Maybe the perfect guy with the perfect balance of excitement and security is out there somewhere.

And meanwhile - Tony - call me.

5:31 p.m. - February 11, 2005

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

porktornado
trancejen
twobaddogs
marn
hissandtell
idiot-milk
poolagirl
ann-frank
dangerspouse
purplecigar
lobsterchick
bluemeany
twelvebeer
juddhole
rickscafe
smartypants
crazy4muffin
bigpimpinmba
hooterville
mousemilk
essaywriter
hydrogeek
hollyfae
biodtl
pinkrevolver
catspajamas
reynedecoupe
yeahimadork
hairburner
haloaskew
toastcrumbs
geeked-out
gripewater
tattoobelly
dinahsoar
gumphood
nicim
batten
acaldwell
bonkrood
wickedcrazy
janetplnetoc
porchlife
not-a-finger
scotvalkyrie
danglemyfeet
reader1209
acecoolg
cunhell
katiedoyle