sunshine0221's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Dream Jobs

Dream Jobs

There are lots of good things about living in a small town.

Real estate is cheap, the air is good, you can walk your dog at night.

The downside is that instead of fielding dozens of job offers from the 50 jobs I applied for, I am biting my nails to hear from one of TWO jobs I applied for, and I haven't hard from them since last weekend when they asked when I was available to interview.

So, in honor of my current job search, here is a list of jobs I wish I had.

Spy

How cool would that be? Travel! Excitement! Danger! I think I am the only one who saw the show Spymaster. It was reality show about being a spy. The contestants got to learn Spy Driving, and Spy Lying, and the cool way to pick up something from a dead drop. Also how to create a cover, and get information from strangers.

Pros: I can act, and be stealthy, and think on my feet. I enjoy travel.

Cons: I'd be wussy about the jumping off buildings stuff. I also don't think I could memorize a 50 digit code of all ones and zeroes in two seconds. I only speak one language, and a few words in French and German. I don't think that knowing how to say "I like to put puzzles together" in German would get me out of a spy hot spot.

Buyer

I'm doing it all the time anyway, so why not get paid for it? I LOVE shopping, and I am damn good at it. Would love to be a buyer for a chain of trendy boutiques.

Pros: Again, I love the shopping. Am good at getting great prices. I keep up with trends, and know good stuff when I see it. Also travel.

Cons: Can't really think of any.

Owner of the world's coolest boutique/consignments store

Pros: Shopping, shopping, shopping. I have already written about this, but here goes again. Great clothes, shoes, handbags. Nice soaps and cosmetics. Designer jewelry. Cool furniture and gifts. Small snack bar with great coffee and desserts.

Cons: Now accepting applications for a sugar daddy to invest in this one.

CSI

I like solving puzzles. I could totally evaluate a molecule of some unknown substance and prove that the guy's long-lost evil twin did it.

Pros: As long as one was in a major city, low on the boring. Getting to solve crimes and put the clues together.

Cons: If I was a CSI here in my dinky town, the most exciting case would be figuring out whose dog pooped on someone's lawn.

Back to real life - after a week with no word, I emailed the prospective job I had not heard back from. I think the previous sentence contained improper grammar, but anyway, the woman was thrilled I followed up, and I think I have an actual job interview on Monday. WOOHOO! If all goes well, I will not have to apply for a job that involves asking people if they want fries with that.

12:54 a.m. - May 23, 2004

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

porktornado
trancejen
twobaddogs
marn
hissandtell
idiot-milk
poolagirl
ann-frank
dangerspouse
purplecigar
lobsterchick
bluemeany
twelvebeer
juddhole
rickscafe
smartypants
crazy4muffin
bigpimpinmba
hooterville
mousemilk
essaywriter
hydrogeek
hollyfae
biodtl
pinkrevolver
catspajamas
reynedecoupe
yeahimadork
hairburner
haloaskew
toastcrumbs
geeked-out
gripewater
tattoobelly
dinahsoar
gumphood
nicim
batten
acaldwell
bonkrood
wickedcrazy
janetplnetoc
porchlife
not-a-finger
scotvalkyrie
danglemyfeet
reader1209
acecoolg
cunhell
katiedoyle