sunshine0221's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

I'm a Dog Person Dammit!!!

I'm a Dog Person Dammit!

I promised myself I wouldn't write journal entry after journal entry about my cats. After all, I'm a dog person.

Spike is making it very difficult to keep my promise.

Buffy is very cool and self sufficient. She's outside a lot, and I don't worry about her. Other than her bad habit of bringing her boyfriends home, she's easy.

Spike, on the other hand, is like a real live two year old. He needs lots of attention. He breaks things. He thinks Buffy is a cat toy. He thinks everything is a cat toy. He gets into trouble.

Sunday night I let Buffy and Spike out. Neither of them came when I called before I went to bed, so first thing in the morning I called them. I hear meowing, but no visible cats. Call again, more meowing. One more call, and then I notice Spike. Up in the tree. One of the hugantic oak trees, about 15 feet up.

Buffy came over to see what was going on, saw Spike, and I swear she rolled her eyes.

Arrrghhh!! Of course this was the day I was taking the mom to Iowa City to go to the dentist. And of course since mornings are the work of the devil, I did not have oodles of time to get Spikey de-treed. It would have been interesting to see how many police/firepeople would have showed up had I called, but there just wasn't time.

I have a great, really tall folding ladder that I could have reached him with. Except the guy who did the tree work borrowed it.

I went and got the way too short not borrowed by the tree guy six foot folding ladder, climbed to the top, and told Spike to jump and I'd catch him. He rolled his eyes and meowed some more.

Went and got the extension ladder. Spikey's branch was not strong enough to support the ladder with a human on it, so I leaned it up against the branch, suggested to Spike that he climb down, and bless his heart he did. I knew he was a genius.

The first thing he did when he came inside was check and be sure his litter box was still there. Dude has a litter box fetish.

I fussed over him, fed both kitties, and headed up to Iowa City.

Lusted over purses, and hit Target for some essentials, then picked up mom at dentist and went to lunch. Due to current austerity measures am frequenting the big buffet place that has some sushi. When I went to pay, I mentioned that my mom gets a senior discount:

Cashier Lady: I gave both of you the 10% discount.

Me: Making sputtering gasping noises. I look OLD to you???????

Cashier Lady: Laughing. It's our anniversary. Everybody gets 10% off. And hey, now you have a funny story to tell people.

So all in all a good day. I made over $100 by not buying purses. I had economy sushi. I hopefully don't look over 55, and I got to worship the shopping gods at Target.

11:28 p.m. - October 29, 2002

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

porktornado
trancejen
twobaddogs
marn
hissandtell
idiot-milk
poolagirl
ann-frank
dangerspouse
purplecigar
lobsterchick
bluemeany
twelvebeer
juddhole
rickscafe
smartypants
crazy4muffin
bigpimpinmba
hooterville
mousemilk
essaywriter
hydrogeek
hollyfae
biodtl
pinkrevolver
catspajamas
reynedecoupe
yeahimadork
hairburner
haloaskew
toastcrumbs
geeked-out
gripewater
tattoobelly
dinahsoar
gumphood
nicim
batten
acaldwell
bonkrood
wickedcrazy
janetplnetoc
porchlife
not-a-finger
scotvalkyrie
danglemyfeet
reader1209
acecoolg
cunhell
katiedoyle